Haus of Gloi–Autumn 2014 collection (mini review!)

Hello everyone!

Today I am posting my first review! It’s for a favorite of mine, Haus of Gloi.

So much indie perfume!

So much indie perfume!

Haus of Gloi is an indie bath and body company that makes perfume oils, handmade soaps, decadent lotions, and more. They have about 20 scents year round, but also periodically release seasonal collections. I learned about them a few weeks into their Autumn 2014 collection, and nabbed a few products to try them out!

The Autumn collection is no longer available, but they bring back some of the same scents year after year, so keep your eyes peeled for these scents around next August or September.

The Autumn 2014 perfumes I ordered.

The Autumn 2014 perfumes I ordered.

I nabbed 3 different perfumes from the autumn collection. The bottle on the left is full size, the others are sample sized. I was a little surprised at how small the samples are, but a little goes a long way.

A sample vial next to a penny. The samples are 1 mL, I think?

A 1.2 mL sample vial next to a penny.

Anyway, on to the review!

Salty Caramel: “Caramel flecked with warm sea salt.”
This was one of their “Candy bowl” scents, simple one note perfumes that smell like candy! They were only available as full-sized perfume. This one smells perfectly warm and caramelly, not artificial at all. I don’t really get the salt, and it doesn’t last super long. But it’s perfect for those days you just want a sweet, simple smell.

Spider Silk: “Procured from a dream: delicate water mint, wispy grey musk, crystalline webs of amber, oakmoss, torchwood, copaiba resin, and a touch of withered violet leaf.”
This one is…a little weird. I didn’t like it when I first put it on, but it grew on me and I found myself reaching for it more than I thought I would. It’s a little floral, a little wet. The mint isn’t super prominent, but it kind of ties it all together. The overall feel makes me think of a dangerous woman in a dark, foggy swamp trying to lure you into her web. It’s a little mysterious, a little seductive. Love!

Olde Cider Haus: “Old oak, sweet drying hay fields, crushed apple pulp and vanilla bean husks.”
Apples! I love the apple note HoG uses, it smells sweet and crisp and tasty. This one smells just like shiny apples in the bottle and when you first put it on, but as it dries the oak and hay come out and make the whole smell a little earthier. It doesn’t really smell like cider, it smells more like an apple orchard!

Lip balm in Pumpkin (not pictured):
This one is supposed to smell like pumpkin flesh, without the spices. I like the consistency of the lip balm, it feels really nice and hydrating on the lips. But I really didn’t like the flavor. It was weird, not sweet at all. I guess I’m more of a fan of pumpkin pie spice than actual pumpkin. 😉 I ended up giving this one to my ladyfriend.

There you have it, my first review! How exciting. You’ll definitely see a lot more from Haus of Gloi, I have a lot from this company already 😉

Until next time,
Allie

One thought on “Haus of Gloi–Autumn 2014 collection (mini review!)

Leave a Reply

