Status

Blogging 101: Hello!

Hi everyone!

I’m kicking off the New Year with a little course called Blogging 101 that will help me become a better blogger! 😀 The assignment for today is to introduce yourself, so even though I posted an introductory post a few weeks back, I’m writing a more in depth one today.

I’m a second year graduate student studying Cell Biology at Yale. My lab is in the Microbial Pathogenesis department, and my thesis project is a bit of a mish-mash of cell bio, microbiology, and immunology. I should be doing my qualifying exam soon, which will be huge! It’s basically a written/oral exam about my future thesis project, and I need to pass to become an official Ph.D. candidate. I can also get a Master’s of Philosophy afterwards, which is pretty neat.

I’m writing this blog partly as an outlet, to get away from science-related endeavors, and partly to improve my writing skills. Balance and writing are both very important in graduate school, and I think that blogging will be a great productive hobby while I’m here!

There are a few reasons that I would like to write in a public forum instead of keeping a private journal. The first is to connect with people. I have recently grown to love some new things, like doing my nails, collecting indie perfume, and making my own cosmetics (starting with sugar scrubs and lip balms, I hope to move up to cold-process soap some day!). A lot of my friends at school don’t really have much interest in any of this (it does not help that a lot of my friends are guys). So I’m hoping that my blog will help me connect with people from all over who share some of these interests. It seems like a great way to make new friends!

The second reason that I want to have a public voice is that I think that how women in science are portrayed in pop culture is appalling. There is some sort of unspoken agreement that women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields are manly, emotionless, or uncouth. They have no interest in hair or makeup or clothes. And it is often implied that women who do enjoy anything typically girly cannot also be interested in science (Remember this commercial? How could a girl ever be interested in lip gloss AND science? Crazy!). I also find that there is a serious lack of both female and LGBT role models in science. Now, I don’t think I’m going to be a huge influence on a ton of people, but I think that if I can inspire just one person, then I’ll feel like I’ve helped.

I’m really excited to start this journey! This blog has already become something new and fun for me. I’ve already received so much love and support from friends old and new! Thank you for coming on this ride with me!

Until next time,
Allie

7 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Hello!

  1. Excellent. I am at Fordham University, on staff at the Graduate School of Education. Thanks for your generous, authentic share regarding who you are and your interest in blogging.

    Like

  2. You’re right! We do seem to have similar goals with our blogs 🙂 AWESOME to see another educated lady proving the masses wrong about stereotypes! Best of luck with your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

