Haus of Gloi–Yule 2014 collection

I wanted to do a quick review of Haus of Gloi’s Yule collection while it’s still kind of relevant! And by relevant I mean I’m pretty sure that like three of these things MIGHT still be up for sale. Meh.

I’d like to apologize right off for the quality of my pictures, I took these when I was first playing around with my lightbox. Also, my current lightbox is teeny tiny, and definitely not big enough for the whipped soaps. Oops!

With that out of the way, let’s get reviewing!

Perfume Oils:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0386-0.jpg

Look at that gorgeous label artwork! This is a 5 mL full sized perfume oil.

Hearth: The warm glowing center of home. Autumns last apple pickings, warm bread, orange rind, various fire roasted nuts, cracked black pepper all nailed down by an oozing sticky benzoin.
This is the only Yule scent that I got in a full sized perfume oil! I love this one. It smells like apples and oranges at first, but you can catch the bread and nuts on the skin. I think the benzoin just anchors it all down with an extra sweetness. This reminds me more of autumn than winter or the holidays, but I would wear this year round because it is so sweet and cozy!

While I’m on the subject of Hearth, I’ll touch on my only beef with Haus of Gloi…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0438-0.jpg

Oh no!

Their labels aren’t oil-proof! If you spill some of the perfume, or have a little on your fingers while you handle the bottle, the ink comes right off. So sad!!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0533-0.jpg

And on to the samples!

Eggnoggin: The Haus ‘nog! Cream, sugar and a shot of dark rum topped with fresh grated nutmeg.
This one doesn’t really smell like eggnog to me? I don’t know why. I can smell all of the components listed in the description, but they don’t come together to make eggnog to me. It just doesn’t remind me of that rich creamy smell that comes when you first open a carton of eggnog. It’s still ok, just not what I wanted.

Parkin: Glorious ginger cakes celebrating Guy Fawkes Day! Brown sugar, black treacle, oats, a peculiar blend of white spices tossed with chopped roasted chestnuts and coated with the lightest of icings.
I was a little scared to use this at first (in fact, I didn’t even order it as a perfume oil, I got it as a free sample). The description on the website notes that the spice note can be irritating to people with sensitive skin, and I’ve had reactions to spices in perfume before. But I’ve been using it sparingly, and haven’t had trouble at all! It reminds me of these soft pumpkin spice cookies I made once. Good enough to eat! (please don’t eat perfume oil guys)

Plotter’s Breakfast: Oatey porridge, stove smoke, kindling wood, a hint of gunpowder and pinch of sweet pipe tobacco.
This one made me SO SAD. The description reminds me of my grandpa’s cabin in the middle of the woods that I used to go to all the time as a kid (I grew up in Alaska). All of the notes listed are smells that I like. I didn’t think it was something I would wear all the time, but it sounds comforting to me. But when I open it up, all I can smell is….bacon. On the skin…bacon. Bacon bacon bacon. I hate this one. I ended up throwing it away.

Rosy Cheeked: Pink grapefruit, fir needles, juniper berries, rosemary, a sprig of parsley and bright winter lilies.
I am very picky about florals, and I really don’t like lily. You know when grocery stores put out Easter lilies in the spring? I hate that. Hate hate hate. I really love most of the notes in this, but when I put it on all I smell is lilies. Pass.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0534-0.jpg

Sweet Potato Treat: For me, this is the epitome of holiday comfort food: Sweet potatoes with mild spices, butter and brown sugar baked off with marshmallows.
This smells exactly like sweet potato casserole! Which is my favorite holiday dessert! I want to bathe in this scent. Unfortunately, if I put too much of this on it irritates my skin. Like, makes it turn bright red and itch like crazy. So I can’t bathe in it. But it’s perfect if I use just a little!

Three Treasures: Sacred gifts of frankincense, myrrh and gold. Smouldering with warmth and brightened with a touch of mandarin rind.
I like this a lot more than I thought I would. It smells a little resiny, but the citrus keeps it sweet. Also, I thought the “gold” in the description was just hyperbole, but this totally has a metallic note. I don’t know how they did that, but it adds a little tartness that this scent really benefits from.

Wintervale: Snow covered blue spruce boughs, frozen woods, crystalline sugared violets and sharp wintery air, all wrapped around a minty mug of hot cocoa.
Confession: I really did not like this when I first smelled it. But it grew on me. Oh yes. It smells like cold in a bottle. It’s fresh and bright and sweet. The hot chocolate accord smells more like white chocolate to me, and it helps ground the scent. I love this one! It smells like winter.

Hair Oil

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0455-0.jpg

Another product in Hearth! To be fair, I got that one for my lady friend. Troika, which is one of their permanent scents, I got for myself. I really love this hair oil. If I want to air dry my hair, I put a drop or two in my palm, rub my hands together, and run them through my hair. It makes my hair soft but not oily. I think it helps it curl a bit, too. I also use it on my cuticles, hands and elbows. I find that it absorbs into the skin really well, a lot better than you would expect. And it feels so hydrating! I think the bottles will last forever and a day. The scent doesn’t linger super long, especially in the hair, which is fine by me.

Lip Balms

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0424-0.jpg

I really like the texture of these lip balms. They kind of melt on contact with your skin, and they’re so smooth, no grit at all. They make your lips feel so soft and hydrated!

Winter Rose: Red rose and soft vanilla.
This is my favorite, hands down. I really like rose, and it’s sweet but not too strong.

Vanilla Chai: Spicy chai and sweet vanilla cream.
The chai spices are really subtle in this, and the spiciness in it doesn’t irritate my lips or make them swell. Perfect!

Butter Pecan: Yummy rum and butter pecan.
This isn’t my favorite, but butter pecan was never my favorite flavor anyway. This isn’t as sweet as I expected it to be.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0540.jpg

Check out that tint!

Rosy Lipped: Pink grapefruit and fir needle essential oil.
Rosy Lipped is a very subtle tint. If my lips are looking super pale, this will help them look more alive. I also love this flavor, this is what Rosy Cheeked should have smelled like!

Butterbombs

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0414.jpg

Butterbombs are Haus of Gloi’s bath bombs! They make a few soft bubbles in your bath, and they smell divine. They are also completely non-irritating to my sensitive skin, which is wonderful. I can’t get enough!

Gingerbread: Warming and ginger snappish!
This smells like gingerbread cookie dough!

Silver Fir: Almost fruity, dreadfully beautiful and wintery. Rounded out with a base of white cedar and amyris.
I got so many of these! They smell just like a forest. The fir is strong, but tempered a little with cedarwood. The combination is so good. I like to use this with lavender bubble bath, the combination is surprisingly good!

Holy Incense: (can’t find a description for this, but I’m sure it’s frankincense and myrrh)
This smells a lot like Three Treasures, but without the metallic tang.

Marzipan: Almost boozy almond with sugar and a touch of rosewater.
I wish I got a lot more of these, they smell desserty and heavenly. A lot like sweet almond, but better.

Sugar Cookie: Buttery. Sugary. Cookies!
This smells just like sweet cookie dough!

Sugar Plum: Plum with soft hints of spice: cinnamon, clove, cardamom and anise.
Sweet and fruity! I was expecting more spice, but I like it just fine without it.

Pumpkin Butter

Pumpkin butters are Haus of Gloi’s body butters. They’re called that because they contain pumpkin seed oil. I found them to be thinner than I expected in texture. It slides down the sides of the container, and the day after you use it the top will be completely flat. But it is so hydrating, and it doesn’t leave any kind of sticky or wet or greasy residue on your skin. The scent also last for quite a while. I think they’re my new favorite lotions!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0434-0.jpg

Parkin: Glorious ginger cakes celebrating Guy Fawkes Day! Brown sugar, black treacle, oats, a peculiar blend of white spices tossed with chopped roasted chestnuts and coated with the lightest of icings.
Just like the perfume oil, it reminds me of soft spiced cookies! I like this better though, because I’m not nervous about putting it on my skin. 🙂

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0435-0.jpg

Snow Wolf: Bristling and prowling, lonesome and haunting. Three howling firs, white frankincense, vanilla bean husk, tainted by droplets of blood cedar.
In the container, all that I can smell is cedar, but the MOMENT I put it on my skin it transforms into fir. Weird! But I really love it.

Sugar Exfolient

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0422-0.jpg

I wanted to try samples of all of Haus of Gloi’s different products in this release. This one is just a sugar scrub. The grains of sugar in this are TINY. I make my own sugar scrub (that’s a post for another day!) and I find it much more exfoliating. BUT I have KP (Keratosis pilaris, chicken skin) on my legs and arms, and need a pretty hardcore scrub to keep that in check. If you don’t need that then you may love this!

Bubbling Scrub/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0426-0.jpg

Same song and dance with the exfoliating scrub, it’s not exfoliating enough for me. I also don’t want to use this on a loofah (does that only make sense to me? I feel like it wouldn’t exfoliate well), and I don’t like sudsing up soap with my hands. So I don’t really enjoy using products like this.

 Whipped Soap

Guys. I am in love. This soap is PERFECT. It is whippy and fluffy and light, but the whip holds its shape. It has such a nice texture. You use just a tiny bit and you have suds for DAYS. It feels really moisturizing, too! The scent isn’t strong on your skin afterwards but it lingers, and you get little whiffs throughout the day. I’ve been using a tub of Fancy Bread since about November and I’m only about halfway through!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0429-0.jpg

Fancy Bread: Ripe banana, roasted nuts and brown sugar folded into a delicious quick bread.
When you first open this, it smells like banana. Fake banana though, like a Laffy Taffy (that’s not a bad thing!). When you suds it up, the other notes come out! The nuttiness is incredible and it really does smell like warm banana bread. Yum!

The whipped soaps only come in 6 ounce jars, but the other products come in either 6 ounce full sized jars, or 2 ounce mini jars. I got everything but the whipped soap in mini jars.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0430-0.jpg

Size comparison: bubbling scrub mini on the left, full sized whipped soap on the right.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0431-0.jpg

And on their sides, so you can compare diameters.

Overall, I was really pleased with what I got! I’m glad I got to try every scent (well, except two of the lip balms) and every product in this release. I’m excited for their Valentine’s release, which should be coming soon!

Questions of the day:
What are your favorite holiday desserts?
Have you ever had a bad reaction to a perfume? Do you try to wear it anyway?

Until next time,
Allie

5 thoughts on “Haus of Gloi–Yule 2014 collection

  1. These all sound divine! I adore perfume, and I haven’t had a bad reaction to any so far. But I haven’t tried many perfume oils, save for some I’ve mixed myself with essential oils in a jojoba oil base. You make me want to order some samples right meow!

    Like

    • I know you left this comment a billion million years ago BUT ANYWAY, indie perfume oils are my new obession and my blog may end up with 500 posts about them 😀 I’ve considered making my own but it seems so intimidating! But it has got to be a lot of fun 🙂

      Like

      • It seems like it would be hard and I’m sure it is to make something that is actually art to smell, but mixing oils for aromatherapy and just fun is… fun! and simple. Just counting drops and sniffing, adding other drops… unlike salt and pepper you CAN mask too much [note] with another dash of [note] but I’m no expert, ha.

        Like

Leave a Reply

