Haus of Gloi review: permanent scents

I officially have samples of all of Haus of Gloi’s permanent scents!! #gottacatchemall Haus of Gloi is one of my favorite indie companies, and I needed all of the permanent ones. For science. I figured it would be nice to do one big review of the scents all together. Be warned, they have 21 permanent scents, so this may be a little long!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0439-0.jpg

True love

Cozy Sweater: Pale skin musk, faded perfume, Egyptian amber, softly burning nag champa incense and a fine aged vanilla.
Introducing the only permanent collection scent I’ve bought full sized! I love this one. It smells like warm and cozy. The notes mix together wonderfully so I can’t really pick them out individually, they just coalesce to form a comfortable, happy scent. I love it!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0537-0.jpg

Sorry the right side of these pictures is blurry, I don’t know what happened!

Absinthe: The Gloi interpretation of the fae vert! Hauntingly herbal. Wormwood and anise swim in a creamy green sea of lemon balm, green lemon, soft glowing mints, a hefty lump of sugar and the tiniest drop of suggestive deep green moss.
I was dreading this one a little because there’s another perfume I own with an absinthe/wormwood note and it does not smell good.

Apothecary (not shown): Old books, bubbling concoctions, herbs and creaking floor boards! A pure essential oil blend of: Lemongrass, rosemary, blood cedar, sweet basil, lavender and the tiniest drop of vetiver.
This smells amazing in the vial–very green, a little old, a little woody. It seriously reminds me of standing in an old dusty lab, with bottles filled with who-knows-what all in a row on an old, dusty wood bench. But the moment I put this on my skin, it smells HORRIBLE. Just bitter and gross. I have no idea why! I put this on my girlfriend and it smells AMAZING on her. Just fresh and green. She really likes it, I ended up giving it to her. So jealous!

Depravity: A bewitching blend of clove, nutmeg and coconut, on a bed of rich golden amber, sandalwood and spilled wine.
Wine! Wine wine wine. That’s mostly what I smell, the other notes make in nice and warm and comforting! It’s not a sour or fermenty wine smell, just a deep, good smell. It lasts forever on me too. I really like it, but I’m not really sure when I would want to be out and about smelling like wine!

Elevenses: Not quite breakfast and not quite lunch, it’s the little sip and nibble in between… Fluffy little orange cakes, sugar coated toasty almonds and a wee steaming cup of black tea.
This reminds me more of lemon sandwich cookies than orange cakes! I don’t really smell the almonds or tea in this one. It’s a nice, simple, sweet smell.

Haus Amber: Rich and sultry amber, our own hand blended accord.
Fun fact: Amber is a fantasy scent. You can’t extract fragrance from real fossilized amber. The amber accord in perfumes is simply inspired by amber. Neat! Anyway, I really like this amber accord. It’s very strong and resiny, but also sweet. It’s really strong on me and it lasts forever! I may try to layer this with other scents eventually, I think it could be pretty neat.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0536-0.jpg

Samples samples samples

Honeysuckle Lemon Curd: Rich lemon curd with a touch of fresh honeysuckle.
This one reminds me of Lemonheads, mostly (that is NOT a bad thing!!). There is a little bit of honeysuckle in the background. It adds just a little bit to it to keep it from smelling like just candy. This lasts forever on me, too.

Imp: Passion fruit, sun cured apricots, pink grapefruit juice and innocent mimosa blossoms.
This one is super sweet and fruity. I can’t discern most of the individual notes, it’s just simple and sweet.

Insalata Nocturna: Italian lemon, rubbed tomato leaf, olive leaf, black fig syrup and basil.
I was a little wary of this one, but I really like it. It’s fresh and green and a teeeeny bit sweet. But it mostly smells like a garden!

Lavender Sugar: White sugar infused with the finest Bulgarian lavender and Madagascar vanilla beans.
This one smells like exactly what it says: Sweet lavender. It’s pretty simple, but if you like lavender you will love this.

Litchi Milk Tea: Tart lychee fruit and black tea met with a splash of coconut milk.
This one smells like lychee! I don’t really smell the other notes, but this is a nice, simple, sweet smell.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0538-0.jpg

RIP Mango Sticky Rice label

Madcap Garden: A lively blend of pure black tea chilled with peppermint and the tiniest spike of sweet honey. Very unisex, stimulating, addictive, and bright.
I smell mint and tea in this. I haven’t decided how I feel about tea scents yet, so I’m not sure about how I feel about this scent. It is really high quality, though. Like, it smells like actual tea, nothing synthetic or fake about it!

Mango Sticky Rice: Sweet mango, coconut infused rice and toasted sesame.
This smells pretty sweet at first, but ends up just smelling like toasted sesame. For HOURS. Not exactly the smell I want to be exuding!

Moon Dog: Solar storms erupt: pure cracked coconut, dry sandalwood essence, heated with nutmeg and clove.
This one is super interesting, but it’s good. If you asked me to pick notes out of it I probably wouldn’t be able to, so this one is hard to describe, but I really really like it. It’s very unique!

Peach Mama: Peach nectar and a host of resins: offertory frankincense, styrax, copaiba balsam and ambered labdanum absolute. Warmed with cassia and a barely audible breath of black patchouli.
This one is peach with a twist! All of the other notes really keep this one from smelling fruity or sweet, but the peach is still there. This one is really cool and unexpected.

Picaroon: Sun scorched mahogany bough crusted with a crystalline sea spray! Faint plundered spices, lemongrass, coconuts, expressed Mexican lime, and Haitian bay rum.
I mostly smell citrus and spices in this, but it definitely gives off a beachy vibe. Yum!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0539-0.jpg

I guess this is right around where I forgot how alphabetical order works. Also, RIP Twice is Nice label 😥

Rose City: Red roses and the earthy wet scent of aged patchouli.
And now we have rose with a twist! I love rose and I love patchouli, putting them together is just wow. Simple but effective!

Satyr: Italian blood orange drizzled with a blackened vanilla.
This one smells so weird in the bottle, but on the skin it smells exactly like the description: oranges and vanilla. Like a creamsicle, but somehow deeper and more grown up. I really love it.

Troika: A trinity of soft milks, almond, oat and coconut, lashed with sweet agave nectar and the ethereal scent of clean white.
Troika is bae. I love this smell. It is sweet and soft and comforting. I got HoG’s hair oil in this scent and it is beautiful and perfect in every way.

Twice is Nice: Buttery sugar cookie, with shavings of creamy coconut and topped with toasted almond slivers.
This smells like sugar cookies! Again, it’s simple, but AMAZING.

Vice: Steam billows rolling off a vessel of fresh made Turkish coffee, marshmallow goo tainted by graham cracker crumbs, toasted hazelnuts and blanketed in black chocolate.
I can smell all of the notes in this and it is AMAZING. The coffee comes out first, but the marshmallow, graham cracker, hazelnuts and chocolate are all there too. This one feels warm and cuddley and it lasts forever on me!

That’s all! *phew* Overall I actually really love most of these, except Apothecary on me (but it’s gorgeous on my lady!!). A lot of them are pretty simple, and I bet it would be fun to experiment with layering. I plan on getting full sizes in Vice for myself, and Apothecary for the lady. And I’m definitely going to keep up with their seasonal releases!

Questions of the Day:
What are your favorite kinds of perfume notes?
Are there any smells that just do not work with your skin?

Until next time,
Allie

3 thoughts on “Haus of Gloi review: permanent scents

  1. There’s one you have to try, and it’s almost a right of initiation for HOG perfumes. It’s called Honey Tree. It’s one of those you either really love it, or you really do not want it anywhere near you 😛

    My absolute faves from their regular line are Insalata Nocturna and Depravity 🙂 Funny, I get a rather deep spicy complex on my skin with Depravity, it’s heavy on the clove. Skin chemistry is aces! 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

