Solstice Scents Review: Winter 2014 Collection and more

Hey team!
Today I’m doing a little review of a new-to-me brand, Solstice Scents! Solstice Scents is a super popular indie perfume company with an impressive list of scents. For my first purchase, I got samples of their winter collection perfumes, and one of their “Burnishing Glaces” (a unique product that you’re supposed to spray on yourself after a shower, to moisturize your skin and make you smell great). I also got free perfume samples in Pumpkin Spice Latte, a fall collection scent that I picked out, and Manor, a scent in their Foxcroft Collection (inspired by a quaint town in Maine) that I think I got because it was my first purchase from them.

Ok, that’s enough chatter. On to the review!

Burnishing Glace

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0711.jpgKitchen Burnishing Glace: Pumpkin, Sugar Cookies, Peach Preserves, Spice Breads, Danishes, Caramel, Vanilla & Sweet Wood Smoke
First sniff: Overly cinnamon. Oh God. (Turns out I was supposed to shake it. After shaking, it smells mostly like fresh cookies)
On skin: If I didn’t shake it first, and put several sprays on each limb, turns out I smell like a red hot and every inch of skin that this touched turns bright red and itchy (I might be a liiiittle sensitive to spices, guys). I ended up having to slather most of my body with rubbing alcohol and/or coconut oil to get this off. At least coconut oil is good for the skin?? If I shake this first and apply lightly, it smells like fresh cookies at first, and fruit later. And no nasty reaction! Muuuuch better.
Afterthoughts: That spice bread accord here really hates my skin. Yikes. It really doesn’t sound like it should be too spicy from the description, but IT IS.

Perfume oils

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ec/81526468/files/2015/01/img_0709.jpg

Check out those gorgeous labels!

Buttered Rum Mallow: Rum, Marshmallow, Nutmeg, Cardamom, Clove, Butter, Cinnamon, Vanilla, Brown Sugar & All Spice
First sniff: It smells sweet, spicy, and buttery!!
On skin: The spice really comes out on the skin. It’s all I can smell at first, like a cinnamon/nutmeg concoction. After a few minutes, I can really smell the butter and marshmallow on the exhale, which is wonderful. And then it starts to peek out from under the spices! It keeps getting sweeter over time.
Afterthoughts: The spices definitely go to town on this one, but the sweetness is still there. It reminds me of butterbeer! If that existed.

Dark Ginger Spicecakes: Gingerbread, Woodsy Musk, Patchouli EO and Vetiver EO
First sniff: It’s definitely strong ginger, but kind of a cross between fresh ginger and gingerbread. This is one I’m a little afraid of applying too heavily.
On skin: This smells a lot more like fresh ginger on the skin. It smells dark, but also a little green. Not what I was expecting. After a few minutes they fresh ginger/greenness goes away, and it smells like gingerbread but oddly clean. Like gingerbread soap. I really like it at that point.
Afterthoughts: I really like that musky scent, I think that’s what makes it smell sweet and clean. I really don’t think I like Solstice Scent’s patchouli note, it’s kinda weird and unpleasant. But I think that and the vetiver are why it smells dark and green at first.

Flintlock: Tobacco, Saddle Leather, Virginia Cedar, Black Pepper, Woods, Bayberry & Evergreens
First sniff: This smells super resiny and conifer-y. It strikes me as a masculine scent.
On skin: This is definitely woodsy and manly, there may be a hint of leather or smoke in this one? But it doesn’t smell artificial or too strong at all, which is really nice.
Afterthoughts: Oh snap I nailed this one! Guys I know that the short list doesn’t mention smoke, but the longer description mentions smokey notes several times. I win! I love all of the woodsy, planty smells in this, and the leather note is so nice.

Lemon Ginger Creams: Gingersnap Sandwich Cookies Filled With Vanilla-Lemon Cream
First sniff: This isn’t super strong in the bottle, but I definitely smell lemons and cookies!
On skin: The lemon blooms like crazy at first. It smells like those lemon sandwich cookies, but even more lemony! The ginger comes out a little later but it doesn’t overwhelm. Yum!
Afterthoughts: Yeah, I guess it’s a liiiiittle difficult to do a blind sniff with a name like that. Heh.

Manor: Woody-Vanilla Musk, Vanilla & Glorious Aloeswood (an extra free sample, not part of the winter collection)
First sniff: Smells a little woodsy, a little resiny, a little old, a little peppery.
On skin: I mostly get the resin smell at first, I wanna say it’s frankincense.  It’s also much sweeter on the skin.
Afterthoughts: Ah, it was aloeswood (oud) causing the resiny smell. I’m not surprised about the vanilla or musk, that’s what smells so sweet!

Nightstar: Nutmeg, Patchouli, Frankincense, Myrrh, Woods and Lemon
First sniff: I mostly smell crushed conifer needles in the bottle.
On skin: This is soft and resiny on my skin. Like amber accord maybe? Not sure. This lasts forever and over time it becomes really mellow and sweet. It stays close to the skin but I get whiffs of it sometimes and it’s lovely.
Afterthoughts: Hmmmm I don’t get the lemon or nutmeg from this at all! I don’t think I’m in love with their patchouli scent. The softness near the end is the myrrh, which is lovely.

Outpost: Sugar Crystals, Spruce, Fir, Soft Woods, Bayberry, Mistletoe, Amber
First sniff: It smells like sap, but a little sweeter. Oh man. I really like it.
On skin: The sap is still there, but something spicier comes out. Woodsmoke? There’s also something manly in there. Like you’re sitting in a coniferous forest in winter sitting by a fire with a dude wearing cologne. It’s a little manly but I looooove it. It reminds me of Alaska! Hah.
Afterthoughts: The sugar and berries explain why it’s a little sweet! The amber probably explains the manly/woodsmoke smell. I really wouldn’t have guessed that I would like this from the description, but oh man. Do I ever love this.

Pumpkin Spice Latte: Sweet Pumpkin, Coffee, Cinnamon, Gingerbread Whipped Cream & A Drop of Nutmeg (this was the free sample I picked, not part of the winter collection)
First sniff: I mostly smell hot, strong coffee!
On skin: It still smells just like coffee at first, after a few minutes the spices come out and it does get a little creamier. I never get pumpkin out of this, but I guess a real pumpkin spice latte doesn’t either!
Afterthoughts: Yeah, I don’t care what the description says, I am not getting pumpkin out of this.

Snowmint Mallow: Peppermint, Vanilla Cake, Flaked Coconut, Sugar Cookies & Marshmallow Creme
First sniff: It’s minty!
On skin: Oh lord this is a scent explosion. There is something sharp and overwhelming, and almost floral? The mint is still there, for sure. The overwhelming scent in there is there on the inhale, then it smells sweet and gourmand on the exhale. It gets less overwhelming overtime, but it stays there and doesn’t go away. I thought it was something weird about the mint flavor at first, but it’s still there when the mintyness leaves. Hmmm.
Afterthoughts: Yeah, I have NO IDEA what that weird awful smell is. I would have sworn it was some awful floral while I was smelling it. Everything else smells fantastic. It might be the coconut?? I really don’t know!

Snowshoe Pass: White Amber, White Musk, Vanilla Accord, Peppermint Cream, Cold Winds
First sniff: It’s a little sweet, a little manly, a little earthy. I am intrigued.
On skin: I think there’s mint in it, it starts out smelling like minty marshmallows (drooool…). But I think there’s also some kind of conifer in there? Adding to that coldness? It smells vaguely like being outside on a cold day.
Afterthoughts: “Cold winds,” hahaha nailed it! No conifer, just peppermint (peppermint cream=minty marshmallows?), but I was right that there was some extra coldness. The amber, musk, and vanilla in this all help anchor it and make it sweet and cozy. I think I’m officially in love with Solstice Scent’s white musk and amber accords.

Sugarvale: Candied Pecans, Butterscotch, Buttered Rum, Brown Sugar, Maple Syrup, Hot Pralines & Milk Chocolate Cocoa
First sniff: I smell candy! Sugar and caramel and maple. Yummmm.
On skin: Caramel, maple, vanilla. Very sweet, very foody. There’s something a little warm in there, but I don’t detect any spices, so that’s nice.
Afterthoughts: It’s the pecans and pralines that are the something warmer! I do not smell chocolate in this at all (though the long description says it’s “not really detectable,” so I guess that’s to be expected). Overall a really sweet and warm scent!

Winslow’s Perfume: Rows of Christmas Trees, Clove Studded Oranges, Bayberry Tapers, Handcrafted Wreaths & Mistletoe
First sniff: It smells green and evergreeny! I feel like I get a hint of anise though…
On skin: This is a very fresh, green scent. The evergreen is still there, but it’s subtle. There’s something in there that is faint and vaguely black-licorice-y, but I’m not sure what it is. It’s still mostly just green, though.
Afterthoughts: Green green green. The clove may actually be that anise-ish smell, weird. But I don’t smell the citrus at all. I do agree with Solstice Scent’s assertion that this smells like “bottled winter.” It’s very lovely!

Overall I really liked Solstice Scent’s winter collection and other fragrances I got. I think there’s a note or two they use that I’m not a fan of, but overall their perfume oils are really high quality and smell fantastic. I’m a little disappointed about the burnishing glace, the spices in that one are really harsh. I may try another one, but I’m not sure.

Questions of the day:
Have you ever been really disappointed with something you were excited about?
What kinds of smells remind you of home?

Until next time,
Allie

Leave a Reply

