Life’s Entropy review: Lip Theories

Hey team!

Today I’m gonna share a bunch of ah-MAZ-ing lip products from Life’s Entropy Cosmetics. Life’s Entropy sells liquid lipstick called Lip Theories in a multitude of colors, and–get this–the samples come in microcentrifuge tubes!

Eeeeeee!

Eeeeeee!

This might not mean a lot to most people, but as a budding molecular biologist (slash cell biologist, slash microbiologist, slash immunologist…it’s complicated, ok?), cosmetics in microcentrifuge tubes is pretty much the best thing ever.

The formula of these is pretty good, they’re liquid but extremely pigmented, so you only need a tiny bit. They’re similar to OCC Lip Tars, if you’ve ever used those. They are very drying, despite being liquid, which is a little sad. I find that they tend to last all day if you don’t put chapstick or gloss over them, otherwise they will fly off.

There are a lot of colors here (I got the full sample pack!), so I’m going to break them into categories: the transformers (colors that are meant to be mixed with other colors), the rainbow, and the wearables.

Transformers

Nucleus collage

Nucleus: A slightly glossy, super pigmented black.
They named the black color nucleus because the nucleus is the most dense part of a cell*, which is why you can see it clearly under a microscope!
*Or atom, but I am biased towards biology

The dark pink spots are nuclei! This is a picture of an onion root. (photo credit: BlueRidgeKitties via photopin cc)

The dark pink spots are nuclei! This is a picture of an onion root. (photo credit: BlueRidgeKitties via photopin cc)

Nucleus is dark. I know some girls might be tempted to put this right on your lips to rock the goth look. Don’t. Don’t do it. It stains like mad. Your lips will be black forever. Forever and ever. Stay away. I will definitely stick to using this to darken other colors, thank you very much.

Quantum collage

Quantum: A highly pigmented stark white. Can be used to lighten other Lip Theory shades.
They named this color quantum because quanta (plural) are “fundamental units of energy or light, just like how white is used in almost all lip colors.” The description says “Quantum are,” which actually really bothers me. It’s like saying “This data…” No one but scientists will catch it, but the scientists will cringe forever. Anyway, this isn’t as pigmented as nucleus, it was pretty sheer when I slapped it on by itself, but it will be great for modulating other colors!

Alloy mixed with Vaccine, a true red, on my lips.

Alloy mixed with Vaccine, a true red, on my lips.

Alloy: A slightly frosty, metallic opal white…Add this to any lip theory for a metallic sheen.
This is named Alloy because alloys are blends of multiple metals, and this is explicitly meant to be mixed with other Lip Theory colors. It makes them a little lighter and gives them frosty! “Metallic sheen” is a very good description. It’s very hard to photograph, you’re just gonna have to trust me.

Just so you can see, here’s a comparison of Quantum and Alloy in the tubes:

alloy v quantum

As you can see, the difference isn’t really apparent, but the effects on your lips are very different.

Rainbow

Vaccine collage

Vaccine: A neutral toned medium red.
They named this one Vaccine because vaccines are “one of the best inventions to exist that benefit human society – similar to that of a brilliant red lipstick.” I LOVE THAT. Guys–vaccines are good. Period. End of story.
The color itself is an awesome red. I love it!

Transformation collage

Transformation: A cool toned, vibrant orange. Perfect for creating warm toned reds, corals, and peaches.
This guy is SO ORANGE. Like fluorescent construction orange. It’s definitely meant to mix with other stuff, not wear alone unless you’re funky. In biology, a transformation is when you make a cell take up DNA from a foreign source. Basically, it’s how we make bacteria produce insulin. In the description on the website, it says “it’s a way to change the DNA of a cell (think super humans and eugenics)” which, holy cow, is not cool. No one, and I mean NO ONE, has used transformation to change the genetic code of a human being. Transformation is NOT eugenics, and likening my science to eugenics in any way is seriously, SERIOUSLY not ok. Seriously. What the actual fuck, guys. Jfc.

Synapse collage

Synapse: A bright golden yellow. Mix in with red or orange shades to create corals or light pinks.
A synapse is a connection between two nerves. Their explanation of this shade name is, “it’s a fundamental part of the nervous system, like how yellow is one of the three fundamental colors, RYB (red yellow blue)”, which is a bit of a stretch but hey, what can you do. This one is yellow. Not much else to say about it.

Matrix collage

Matrix: A medium forest green.
This is green. Matrices are important in math and chemistry and stuff, but most importantly, The Matrix was filmed with a bit of a green cast (to make it look otherworldly), which I am sure was the actual inspiration.

Osmosis collage

Osmosis: A vibrant medium blue.
This is very blue. Osmosis is the movement of water across a semi-permeable barrier.

Crystal Violet collage

Crystal Violet: A cool toned medium purple.
Guys this color is exactly crystal violet! Crystal violet is a dye used in Gram staining, which is a procedure that is important for identifying bacteria. Basically, Gram-positive bacteria, like strep and staph, will turn purple, and Gram-negative bacteria will be stained pink. The difference in staining is due to differences in the cell wall of the bacterium. ANYWAY, this color is that to a T. Oh man. Geeking out.

The purple balls are Staphylococcus aureus (staph), and the pink rods are E. coli.

The purple balls are Staphylococcus aureus (staph), and the pink rods are E. coli.

Wearables

Recursion collage

Recursion: An bold orange red.
Have you ever Google’d recursion? Go ahead, do it. I’ll wait.

With that out of the way, this color is an awesome orange red, I really like wearing it. My skin is naturally a little warm-toned, so I don’t know how cool-toned chicks will feel about it!

Fusion collage

Fusion: A bright, cool toned magenta pink.
It’s fuchsia! Get it?? ANYWAY, nuclear fusion is the opposite of nuclear fission (which is what makes nuclear power plants go. Also, atom bombs). Nuclear fusion is what gives the sun its energy!

Enzyme collage

Enzyme: A pale peach-pink.
Enzymes are proteins that catalyze chemical reactions! They’re pretty important little powerhouses. This color is super pale, and super opaque, and I thought I would hate it, but after some blotting it’s so pretty. It’s very feminine and soft.

Derivative collage

Derivative: A light to medium cool toned pink.
This one is less pale than Enzyme, but still light, soft, and feminine. Derivatives are calculus. I’m not a mathematician. Moving on!

Coralation collage

Coralation: A pressure sensitive Lip Theory that starts out as a light peach-coral but darkens to medium coral when pressed.
Repeat after me: Correlation does not equal causation. Good! Also, get it, it’s coral so they named it coralation!
……
ANYWAY. This is a very nice coral, but I didn’t notice anything pressure-sensitive about it. Maybe I just wasn’t paying attention. Meh.

Big Bang Theory collage

Big Bang Theory: A dark vampy red with slight brown undertones.
Oh man. Oh man oh man oh man. This color is BANGIN’ (I’m not sorry). Seriously though, it’s so vampy and I am in love!!

Apoptosis collage

Apoptosis: A vibrant, medium orange coral.
Apoptosis is the process of programmed cell death, and I have no idea what this color has to do with that! Also, fun fact, most people pronounce this “ay-pop-TOE-sis,” but technically the second p is silent (because it’s from the Greek suffix “-ptosis,” meaning “fall”), so old people pronounce it “AY-puh-TOE-sis” which is adorable and also that’s how I pronounce it in my head.

I also don’t really like the description for this one on the site, but it’s just me being nit-picky and not nearly as bad as casual references to eugenics so I won’t go there. If you’re interested ask me about it in the comments.

Overall, I really like these Lip Theories, science rants aside. My favorites are Vaccine and Big Bang Theory!

Questions of the Day:
Were any of these terms new for you?
How do you keep liquid lipsticks (or any lipstick) from drying out your lips?? Seriously.

Until next time,
Allie

5 thoughts on “Life’s Entropy review: Lip Theories

  1. Did you mean… recursion? click. click. click.

    They were all new. I’m a musician, not a scientist. But I’m good at calc, or I was, back in my community college days.

    I use chapstick (burt’s bees original) under drying formulas and aquaphor on top if it doesn’t remove the color (sometimes it does). So I need a better system as well, ha.

    These are all fun shades, and I enjoyed the lessons. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tara says:

    This post was so fun to read AND extremely helpful in showing these beautiful colors! 😀

    I wear a TON of liquid lip color and mattes so I had a major problem with dryness. I found something that works for me though! I use OCC Lip Tar Clear (also being called Lip Tar Primer these days) as a primer. I apply a thin to medium layer and allow it to set until it is invisible / almost invisible. The shine from the product should be gone. This takes about 10 to 15 minutes but I do other makeup things while I’m waiting. If you can’t wait blotting gently with a paper towel works pretty well. Afterwards apply any lip color as usual. For me, it works really great. It never interferes with the finish of the lip color I’m wearing. I really want to try LE’s clear Lip Theory (Placebo) though! I’m so excited to try these!

    Yes. I looked up words. XD I am one of those people who, if they happen upon a word they do not know, must look it up right away lest their brain become itchy with wonder. Many thanks again for this review! ❤

    Like

  3. Hey girl! I came across your site because of these. Having been in a super-advanced class math and science student with straight As back in high school (who then switched to literature, ha) and having dated a chemistry grad, your site is TOTALLY AWESOME. Because we can all speak and think critically while still owning 30 lipsticks, right?! Will be reading your blog religiously from now on!

    Like

  4. I found your site looking for review of lip theories. I was in a hardcore advanced science and math class in high school and I’ve dated a chemistry grad, so this is all great fun to me. Thank you SO MUCH for your tag line, that science and feminity are not exclusive. I can think critically AND I have 30 lipsticks!!
    I’ll be adding your blog to my regular reading list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

