Haus of Gloi review: Valentine’s collection!

Hey team!

Happy (almost) Valentine’s day! To celebrate, I wanted to share what I got from Haus of Gloi’s Valentine’s collection. A lot of this might not be available anymore; they wanted to do a smaller release this year. HoG is going through some growing pains this year, their seasonal collections have been selling out QUICK, so they did a small release for Valentine’s so they can focus on their upcoming Spring collection! Even if you can’t get any of these this year, they tend to repeat some of the same smell each year, so keep this review in mind for their next Valentine’s release. 😉

On to the products!

Perfume

Perfume

Come Hither: Based off of traditional herbs and roots used in Hoodoo to draw and attract a lover, or entice the one you’ve already ensnared! Bourbon vanilla, tonka bean, a touch of rose oil, Queen Elizabeth root, three threads of saffron and a touch of honey to sweeten the whole deal.
First sniff: This smells rich and sweet and just wonderful.
On skin: This is powdery and sweet, and a little more floral on the skin. Something really plasticky and weird comes out at first, which is so unfortunate! It fades over time but doesn’t really ever go completely away.
Afterthoughts: I’m pretty sure the gross plastic smell must be a skin chemistry issue, nothing like that has ever happened to me with an HoG product and it smells SO GOOD in the bottle! Just keep that in mind, I’m sure this would smell lovely on most people!

Cozy Rose: Cozy Sweater and our Rose City blended together harmoniously (CS: Pale skin musk, faded perfume, Egyptian amber, softly burning nag champa incense and a fine aged vanilla.; RC: Red roses and the earthy wet scent of aged patchouli.)
First sniff: This is interesting, I can definitely smell both Cozy Sweater and Rose City but it’s hard to tell how good the combo will be on the skin.
On skin: I definitely get that Cozy Sweater snuggliness right away, but it seems a little more dryer-sheet ish. Weirdly, at this point I can smell the rose more when I’m not actively sniffing my wrists. Once it starts to dry more the rose comes out, and it smells so good with that cozy snuggliness in the background.
Afterthoughts: The weird thing about this is that Cozy Sweater and Rose City are both light in color, and this oil is deep yellow. I also think the rose is stronger than Rose City by itself, the patchouli is pretty strong in that one.

First Blush: Tahitian vanilla bean, white tea, lavender and peach.
First sniff: This is sweet and bright and sour and a tiny bit bitter. I can see this smelling either really awesome or really awful on the skin.
On skin: The sour brightness really comes out on the skin. It reminds me of a sour candy, like a Warhead! (well, not really as sour as a Warhead, haha) It seriously smells like how lime green would smell, a little fruity and veeerrrry bright. It has a bit of a bitter floral in the background.
Afterthoughts: I would not have guessed I would like this from the description, but I do. I would love it more without the lavender (that’s the bitter floral in there), but I still like it. On second sniff I can definitely smell the peach, that’s the fruity smell!

Odette: Clean sun dried linens, tuberose, ginger lily and white musk.
First sniff: All I can smell is dryer sheets.
On skin: It’s definitely dryer sheets, but in a better way than it smelled in the bottle. It smells floral, soft, and fresh. Nothing bitter or sour or bad here.
Afterthoughts: I actually really hate lily, so I’m glad the ginger lily in here doesn’t make this awful. But all of that together definitely spells “dryer sheets.” Yup.

Risque: A leather whip, red musk, cast aside roses and an intoxicating touch of agarwood attar. (I think they switched from agarwood to amber this year though?)
First sniff: It’s a very soft, sweet leather with something sweeter in the background.
On skin: Yup, leather and roses. Like I said, it’s a soft leather. It actually works together surprisingly well. The leather is really accurate, not plasticky or artificial at all.
Afterthoughts: I never would have thought that I would like this from the description, but it’s so so good. Not manly at all, just sweet and smooth. I really love the smell of leather, it reminds me of my dad (he went through a biker phase), so this is just sweet and comforting to me, not sexy or “Risque,” haha, but YMMV. 🙂

Who Needs Love: A mahogany box filled with chocolaty orbs, coated in crystallized coffee – filled with a pomegranate and raspberry filling. Who needs love when you have something this decadent?
First sniff: Yum, it smells like raspberry chocolates and instant coffee!
On skin: The coffee is stronger here, but the chocolate and raspberry are still there. It’s very sweet, but there’s a little something there that prevents it from being a pure sickly sweet gourmand. I reeeeaaaally love this (is it any coincidence that I got a full size of Vice in this same order? Hmmm…).
Afterthoughts: HoG’s chocolate and coffee notes are the bomb dot com. When you open this bottle, it SERIOUSLY smells like coffee coated, raspberry filled chocolates. 100%, no doubt about it. The mahogany really grounds it and keeps it from just smelling like you bathed in candy, which helps make me feel like an adult (lol, who am I kidding). Anyway, I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this. Forever and ever, amen. I mayyyyy get this in a full size or pumpkin butter when they restock, but I haven’t decided!

Butterbombs

Butterbombs

I love these guys. They’re little scoops that you put in your bath. They bubble a tiny bit, but mostly make your bath smell amazing and silky smooth! Your skin feels great after using these. I’ve been picking up a bunch with each release so I can stock up on them!

Milk Carnation

Milk & Carnation: A blend of soft milk and carnations.
Mmmmm, this smells creamy and wonderful! I really like the smell of carnations, I have good memories associated with them, so this was bound to be a hit!

Pink Champagne

Pink Champagne: Bubbly champagne with strawberries and pink grapefruit.
This smells so sweet and bright and bubbly! Definitely more citrus than the lip balm, but the strawberry peeks out, too.

Hot Wax

Hot Wax: Warm sweet beeswax.
This smells like raw honey, or a beeswax candle, just a little less sweet and more rich than straight honey.

Lavender Forest

Lavender Forest: A blend of Bulgarian lavender, scots pine, amyris and frankincense.
This was a very medicinal lavender. I feel like it cleared my sinuses a little.

Lip balms

Balms

Cherry Vanilla: Ripe red cherries and sweet vanilla.
This one probably has the least smell of all of the lip balms. The cherry smell is there, it’s just very light.

Cocoa Rose: Our classic rose note with chocolate.
It’s mostly that lovely rose note that I loved in the Winter Rose lip balm, but the cocoa note is really good too, not plasticky or juvenile at all, and they blend together very well.

Pink Champagne: Mixed berries and bubbly champagne.
This tastes fruity and bubbly and pink! (don’t ask me how it tastes bubbly and pink…it just does)

Red Velvet: Rich red and cakey!
Smells like….red velvet cake! It’s subtle though, which is nice.
Overall, I really loved this collection more than I thought I would! I didn’t really think I would like anything except Who Needs Love upon reading the notes, but I’m super glad I decided to take the plunge and get everything anyway.
Questions of the day:
What makes a perfume “sexy” to you?
How to you feel about candy-sweet perfume?

Until next time,
Allie

4 thoughts on “Haus of Gloi review: Valentine’s collection!

  1. I love coming up here and reading you reviews and opinions on various items and products !!!! I really like the fact that everything is so detailed. I am such a sucker for anything that has to do with the body, so I am all over these Butterbombs. Where can I find them at?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thank you! These butterbombs are from Haus of Gloi (hausofgloi.com), but they only release them with their seasonal releases and the Valentine’s ones are sold out 😦 I don’t know when their spring release is but they will have more then!

      Like

Leave a Reply

