Sixteen92 Spring Collection

Hey team!  I’M BACK! Yay! I had been away from the blog for a few weeks to focus on my qualifying exam. I did my oral exam a week ago (THE WORST PART), now I’m brushing up on the literature in my field so I can rewrite part of my proposal, then I’ll be done and can just lab full time! Hooray!

This review was a long time coming! Oh man! Today I’m sharing with you sixteen92‘s Spring Collection! sixteen92 is easily becoming one of my favorite perfume shops. They’re an indie company with a witchy vibe, and their perfume oils have a way of transporting you to another place and time. They’re so unique and lovely. Their sample sizes are a generous 2 mL instead of the typical 1 mL, and they have an awesome clean aesthetic. ALSO, their seasonal collections don’t sell out in 2.5 seconds, unlike some other shops, so you don’t have to be a speed demon to try them out! (Though they had a limited edition that recently came out that did disappear in 2.5 seconds…but I nabbed one! YASSSS)

Even awesomer, they just announced The Circle, a year-long quarterly subscription box where they will send you every seasonal release a month in advanced! I’m hopping on that FOR SURE.

Spring Collection 2015

The pretties!! :D

The pretties!! 😀

The Grass Harp:
The wind is us—it gathers and remembers all our voices, then sends them talking and telling through the leaves and the fields.
Orange blossom, clover, hyacinth, ruby red grapefruit, sweet basil
Floral, Green, Feminine

First Sniff: This is green. Green green green. The greenest thing you ever seen. Even the oil is a little bit green! Also I smell a white floral, like jasmine? Which is usually a death note for me but I reeeaaaally like it here.
On skin: This smells like a plant. Like a whole plant. White flowers in bloom, freshly cut green stems, even a little dirt, a little watery dampness, like wet rocks. This smells alive. I want to smell like this all the time.
Afterthoughts: Orange blossom is the white floral! Which I like better than jasmine, that explains why I like it hah. The notes are a lot more florally than I expect, and I’m surprised that basil is the only green note listed (it’s also a death note for me). I don’t smell grapefruit, sadly 😦 but it may be grounding this a little with some subtle bitter, citrusy sweetness. Overall I love, love, LOVE this, which is surprising to me from the description of both the notes and the “fragrance family,” as she calls it (the “floral, green, feminine” part of the description).

I like smelling like a garden. :) photo credit: l'étonnante santé des dahlias.... via photopin (license)

I like smelling like a garden. 🙂
photo credit: l’étonnante santé des dahlias…. via photopin (license)

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter:
The way I need you is a loneliness I cannot bear.
Tuberose absolute, soft skin musk, oakmoss, fresh earth, vanilla, iris
White Floral, Feminine

First Sniff: This is sweet, but in a bizarre way. Like it’s a little floral and maybe like…vanilla-y? Powdery? But weird. I dunno!
On skin: This one is a premium fragrance, meaning the sample is less full, so it’s a bit hard to get onto the wand. Once it’s on though, it smells sweet and powdery, but in an artificial way? It reminds me a teeeeensy bit of strawberry hard candy, but also flowers. It smells dark purple to me. If that makes any sense (it doesn’t). I think I like it, but I’m not sure. I’ll have to try it a few more times.
Afterthoughts: Can I just say that I nailed it on the cold sniff?? Vanilla, tuberose, iris, skin musk. BOOM. I can also smell the greenness of the oakmoss, but I’m not sure I smell fresh earth. Still not sure if I like it.

I guess this is a tuberose, sure. photo credit: Flowers for thee.. via photopin (license)

I guess this is a tuberose, sure.
photo credit: Flowers for thee.. via photopin (license)

The Orchard Keeper:
And he no longer cared to tell which were things done and which dreamt.
Night blooming jasmine, peach, apricot, pink pepper, sandalwood
Floral/Fruity, Feminine

First Sniff: This is so sweet and fruity! I think I smell peaches. Yum! (I also got a sample of this with a past purchase! So this scent will last me a while) 😀
On skin: Something florally comes out on the skin, but it’s still mostly sweet, bright and fruity. But there’s definitely some white floral (jasmine?? Maybe I always guess jasmine) lurking in the background.
Afterthoughts: Hahaha I was right about the jasmine this time! Jasmine and peaches. The combination is better than I would expect!

Holy wow you guys I actually found a picture of jasmine and peaches.

Holy wow you guys I actually found a picture of jasmine and peaches.

The Sound and the Fury:
The field only reveals to man his own folly and despair, and victory is an illusion of philosophers and fools.
Southern sweet tea, Carolina jessamine, balsam, fern, warm skin musk, loam
Herbal, Green, Floral, Feminine

First Sniff: This is sour and sweet. It reminds me of sour candy and flowers, weird combo but it’s yummy!
On skin: This is very, very sweet, but in a weird way. It’s a little sharp, a little powdery. It smells like the color green…it’s not a “green” smell, I don’t smelly anything plant-like, it’s just….the color green. I think I smell something resiny in the background, but I don’t know. I can’t tease this one apart, and I’m not sure how I feel about it.
Afterthoughts: Sweet tea?? What?? Reading that now I can kind of smell it, but it’s definitely overshadowed by tons and tons of flowers. I don’t really smell anything woodsy or green or white or earthy, so I’m a little confused about the last four notes. Now it’s just a glass of sweet tea in an avalanche of flowers. I think I’ll let this one sit for a while and come back to it and see how it changes.

FLOWERSFLOWERSFLOWERSFLOWERS photo credit: Baltimore Farmer's Market via photopin (license)

FLOWERSFLOWERSFLOWERSFLOWERS
photo credit: Baltimore Farmer’s Market via photopin (license)

Wise Blood:
There are all kinds of truth … but behind all of them there is only one truth and that is that there’s no truth.
Champaca absolute, tuberose, white pepper, Orris root, guaiacwood, cardamom
Yellow Floral, Spicy, Warm, Exotic

First Sniff: I actually recoiled when I first sniffed this out of the vial. It’s sharp and sour and bitter. I don’t even want to put this on my skin.
On skin: Ok, this isn’t bad on the skin, thank god. That sharp bitterness is gone. It smells a little sweet and resiny, and cool and metholated. It smells like it could be an incense stick. It’s a warm red smell.
Afterthoughts: I don’t know what any of those things smell like! But I agree with the spicy, warm, exotic description. I’m so glad this smells better on my skin than it did in the vial!!!

Overall, I really really liked this collection. With all of the white floral notes I thought a lot of these just wouldn’t be for me, but I liked them all, except maybe The Sound and the Fury. Bonus, the ladyfriend likes The Orchard Keeper too, so we’ll get to share that one! Yay!

Questions of the Day:
Have you ever had a perfume that smelled better on your skin than in the bottle?
What kinds of smells remind you of your childhood?

Until next time (Which will be soon, instead of weeks from now!!!),
Allie

3 thoughts on “Sixteen92 Spring Collection

  1. Hey, welcome back!!
    I’ve got a few of these samples coming to me on Wednesday and I can’t wait to try them now! (I told myself I wouldn’t buy the entire collection because as much as I love sixteen92’s scents, they just don’t last on me. And then I went and bought 3 Spring samples anyway. That’s willpower right there.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

