Sixteen92-Supercell and others!

Hey team!

I got a few more samples and such from Sixteen92! Sixteen92 is a fairly new perfumery with a witchy vibe that I adore. They recently released a) a limited edition thunderstorm-inspired perfume oil called Supercell, and b) a yearly subscription service called The Circle, and I GOT BOTH! 😀 😀 So happy! I haven’t received anything from The Circle (I won’t for a few months), but today I can share Supercell plus some regular collection smells with you!

Supercell

IMG_1399

The Calm Before (Top Notes)
Electric ozone, sharp green grasses, asphalt
The Storm (Middle Notes)
Petrichor, windblown hay, damp florals
The Aftermath (Base Notes)
Crushed stems, soaked earth, cracked branches
Fragrance Family:
Conceptual, Atmospheric, Ozonic, Dark Floral, Green, Wet, Unisex

First sniff: Right off the bat it smells green, wet, and a little smokey. I’m getting a little bit of a wet asphalt feel from it, too.
On skin: When I first put it on it is very wet and green and a little dirty. It’s got a yummy fresh cut stems smell going on, but it’s a little darker feeling than that. After a bit it gets more dirty, a little like wet asphalt, and strangely sweet. It gets very faint very fast on me, which is a little sad, but I can still smell it if I sniff my wrists. Over time, this gets less green and more dirty and earthy.
Afterthoughts: This is very green and earthy, and less warm and wet than I was expecting. I wish is was stronger on me (skin chemistry!! *shakes fist*), but this is a lovely dirty green fragrance while it lasts! I’m definitely going to age this and see what happens. 🙂

Right now, I would say this smells more like dirt and grass than a storm. photo credit: a view unlike any other via photopin (license)

Right now, I would say this smells more like dirt and grass than a storm.
photo credit: a view unlike any other via photopin (license)

Samples

IMG_1397

Cloven:
“La plus belle des ruses du diable est de vous persuader qu’il n’existe pas.”
–– Charles Baudelaire

A sweet trio of vanilla, fossilized amber resin and balsam prowl beneath a fiery mix of cardamom, cinnamon* and clove, finished with a dash of blue chamomile, damascus rose and neroli. A multi-faceted fragrance for the fearless and lovers of the exotic.

Balsam, Fossilized Amber Resin, Vanilla Absolute, German Blue Chamomile, Cinnamon, Cardamom, Clove, Damascus Rose, Neroli
Warm Spicy / Sweet / Herbal / Floral

First sniff: This is sweet and surprisingly sour. It smells strongly of clove and cardamom. It smells like it could be a hot, spicy drink, like a really good chai tea without milk.
On skin: Clove. It also smells a little like those gummy cola candies, like too sour, room temperature flat soda.
Afterthoughts: I literally can only smell clove. Maybe tempered slightly so it’s more sweet and less hot…but it’s still mostly a clove scent, not complex at all on me. Sad!

Pretty much. photo credit: Spice Related (Free stock photo) via photopin (license)

Pretty much.
photo credit: Spice Related (Free stock photo) via photopin (license)

I Saw Goody Proctor With the Devil:
“There are wheels within wheels in this village, and fires within fires!”
– Arthur Miller

Dragon’s Blood, Champaka Flower, Exotic Spices, Ancient Spellbooks, and a Smouldering Cauldron
Unisex / Oriental / Smoky / Incense

First sniff: Nag champa!! This smells like a head shop in the best possible way.
On skin: Omg I LOVE this. It smells just like this little hippie shop down the street from me. It’s incensy yet sweet. SO GOOD.
Afterthoughts: TBH I mostly got this for the name and expected to dislike it. But I LOVE IT. It smells witchy and fabulous and I am so happy I have it now!!

Black cats, broken mirrors, witches. Same thing really (?) photo credit: "Lucky" was inexorably drawn to the mirror via photopin (license)

Black cats, broken mirrors, witches. Same thing really (?)
photo credit: “Lucky” was inexorably drawn to the mirror via photopin (license)

Rei:
“My energy comes from freedom and a rebellious spirit.”
– Rei Kawakubo, Commes des Garçons

The first in a limited series of scents inspired by the avant garde, Rei is an homage to anti-fashion icon Rei Kawakubo and Comme des Garçons.

Opening notes of aldehydes, ozone and rose oxide are layered atop crisp bergamot, yuzu and the smallest touch of buttery smooth gardenia, with a base of dark labdanum, vetiver, fossilized amber resin and opium. A truly multi-layered and immanently wearable scent exploration for lovers of the unconventional.

Aldehydes, Ozone, Rose Oxide, Bergamot, Yuzu, Gardenia, Labdanum, Vetiver, Fossilized Amber, Opium
Feminine / Chypre Floral / Aldehydic / Citrus

First sniff: This is so sweet. It reminds me of Sprite, a very bright, bubbly sweet smell.
On skin: So much citrus, this reminds me a little of lemon Pledge. It is so so bright and sharp and sweet and sour.
Afterthoughts: Unconventional and avant garde is right!! I really appreciate the inspiration behind this scent, but all I can smell is aldehydes and ozone and fruit! I’m not really smelling any of the floral or green or resiny notes at all. I’m not sure if it’s wearable for me personally, unless I want to smell super super sweet in an atypical way.

Yeah, I'd say this fragrance is just as in-your-face as the inspiration. Commes de Garcon on Google image search

Yeah, I’d say this fragrance is just as in-your-face as the inspiration.
Commes de Garcon on Google image search

Southern Gothic:
“Men and women, they were beautiful and wild, all a little violent under their pleasant ways and only a little tamed.”
– Margaret Mitchell

This southern belle really transforms on your skin. Don’t be fooled by the woody balsam smell from the bottle — this is a lovely, complex and warm southern floral that unfolds beautifully as it wears.

Mandarin Orange, Apple, Coconut Pulp, Southern Magnolia, Jasmine Sambac, Balsam, White Sandalwood
Fruity Floral / Feminine / Citrus / Tropical

First sniff: Sweet yet bitter, a touch medicinal, it reminds me of cough syrup. So far, no good.
On skin: It actually starts to smell like candy on my skin. It retains that medicinal quality though, it’s kind of like marshmallows and Nyquil. It’s a very bizarre smell, I’ve never smelt anything like it. As it dries it loses the bitterness (pretty quickly, actually) and just becomes a strange sweetness that I can’t describe, but it does become much more pleasant.
Afterthoughts: Ok, I would not call the smell on cold sniff “woody balsam,” just “straight cough syrup.” I do agree that it is a transformer though, and in a good way! I can literally not pick out any notes here, they all just meld together to create something totally unique.

I don't really see what's "Southern" about this scent but hey, I'll roll with it. photo credit: DSC_7938_pp via photopin (license)

I don’t really see what’s “Southern” about this scent but hey, I’ll roll with it.
photo credit: DSC_7938_pp via photopin (license)

Swarm:
Hieratical in your frock coat, maestro of the bees,
You move among the many-breasted hives,
My heart under your foot, sister of a stone.
– Sylvia Plath, The Beekeeper’s Daughter

Beeswax Absolute (not vegan), Amber, Vanilla Absolute, Orchid Blossoms, Spanish Lavender
Feminine / Floriental / Sweet / Resinous

First sniff: This one is being discontinued, so I’m glad I snapped it up! This one smells really syrupy and sugary.
On skin: This is so sweet. It really reminds me of candy. It has a touch of a black licorice accord, but it’s not overwhelming (phew!). But that’s what it reminds me the most of, simple syrup and licorice. Overtime it just turns plasticky. This isn’t my favorite.
Afterthoughts: The lavender in this goes straight licorice on me, and the other notes just meld into a generic sweetness. Boooo lavender! It’s not my favorite but I really thought this one would be more honey-ish. Oh well. 😦

Really nice gourmet licorice, but still licorice.  photo credit: First Taste    cy365   15/365 via photopin (license)

Really nice gourmet licorice, but still licorice.
photo credit: First Taste cy365 15/365 via photopin (license)

Lotions

IMG_1398

Lolita: Crisp apple skins, tart peach candies, rose absolute, sugared violet
First sniff: This is a lot sweeter than the perfume oil version of Lolita. The peach note especially is really strong here!
On skin: This is creamy and fruity on the skin. Definitely getting a peaches and cream deal with flowers. Yum!
Afterthoughts: I like this a LOT more than the perfume version of Lolita. It’s so peachy! I love peaches. 🙂

Peaches!! photo credit: peaches via photopin (license)

Peaches!!
photo credit: peaches via photopin (license)

Sucre Vanille: Raw sugar, vanilla and a light floral musk with a splash of sweetened coconut milk. A perfect warm-weather feminine scent. Sweet but not cloying, lightly floral but not overpowering. The fragrance equivalent of the perfect sundress.  
First sniff: It’s sweet and a little powdery.
On skin: This is really light and subtle, just adds a tiny bit of sweetness. It’ll be a good scent for days you want just a tiny bit of sweetness, nothing more.
Afterthoughts: I can see the light floral musk for sure, but it’s very, very light. I expected it to be a little more sweet and gourmand but I still like it!

I looked up "ethereal." I'll take it. photo credit: Adney Gap on a Wet Spring Morning via photopin (license)

I looked up “ethereal.” I’ll take it.
photo credit: Adney Gap on a Wet Spring Morning via photopin (license)

Overall, as usually, I’m pretty happy with my purchase from Sixteen92! I really wish Supercell lasted longer and morphed more on me, but I’m going to let it age and see what happens! Maybe you’ll get an updated review in the future. 😉

Questions of the Day:
What’s your favorite kind of weather?? Mine is warm rainy days!
Black licorice: yes or no?
What do you look for in a lotion? I really love Sixteen92’s light, refreshing formula, but there are a few others I like, too!

Until next time,
Allie

Leave a Reply

