Image

Not all of my ideas are good ones: My Zombie Mani

Hey team!

Today’s mani of the week is a bit of a fail. šŸ˜¦ But I wanted to share it with you anyway!

Here’s the story: I wanted to do a mani with Julep’s April birthstone polish, Coretta! It’s diamond inspired and named after Coretta Scott King. It’s a gorgeous, sparkly rainbowy top coat, take a look at what it looks like in the bottle!

Gorgeous!

Gorgeous!

To me, this looks like a fairly neutral sparkly polish. I decided to put it over a really pretty deep, berry red color that I’ve found looks super good with some sparkle on top. However, it turns out that Coretta is a little more cool-toned than I realized, and, well…

Not my best work!

Not my best work!

It may not be super obvious in this picture buuuuut this looks not super sparkly/super dead on my fingers. Also, the sparkle didn’t get all the way to the edges of my nails so it looks like my nail beds are bleeding! (It’s more obvious in lower light. I’m not adding a picture. Just trust me.)

Up close, in good light, it looks more like what I envisioned…

Sparkles!

Sparkles!

But in person? Bloody zombie.

Lesson of the day: Not all manis are good, and color theory is important!

8 thoughts on “Not all of my ideas are good ones: My Zombie Mani

Leave a Reply

