Status

On openness and the future of my blog

Hello everyone!

Today I have a bit of meta-commentary about my blog. I want to talk about the future and where I really want my blog to go. But first, I wanted to share a little about myself.

I have never been a super open person. Sure, I’m opinionated and loud, but I have a hard time actually expressing those opinions except to people that I’m very close to. I thought that a blog might make it easier, but the people who read this are a combination of people I know (on Facebook mostly) and complete strangers, and writing anything that expresses how I feel has been very challenging.

That’s why I’ve been mostly writing these makeup and perfume reviews: a way to express opinions and put how I feel out there, but in kind of a shallow way. No one can really know who I am from what kind of perfume I like, right? Those posts are a security blanket in a way, I suppose.

But just doing reviews isn’t what I wanted from my blog. I want it to be a snapshot of my life, of every complicated facet of it, not just things that make me feel pretty. As a queer female scientist….science literacy, feminism, and queer rights are all very important to me. And I want to start posting about those things more!

I want to put this out here so you guys can keep me accountable, so here goes:

My new goal for this blog is to post at least once a week about science, feminism, or queer issues.

This will be very hard for me. I know it will be hard at first especially. I’ll be putting myself out there, and really baring a part of my soul that isn’t used to being exposed. But it’s something that I really want to do, really need to do, and I’m really excited about it!

All I ask of you, dear readers, is for your support. I would really appreciate it right now. 🙂 Thank you for joining me so far, I’m excited for where the future may take us!

Much love,
Allie

Leave a Reply

