Personal ramblings and Sixteen92’s The Circle

I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching lately. I think it’s doing a lot of good.

Do any of you guys read Wait But Why? It’s a pretty rad blog with a lot of cool posts, but one in particular really helped change the way I look at things. It’s about the Procrastination Matrix. It helped me realize how I procrastinate and why. I realized that blogging became my ultimate procrastination destination when I was studying for quals. Because of that, I was able to pump out 4 or 5 posts a WEEK. Wow! But since quals are over and gone, my blog has felt more important. It isn’t for procrastination, it’s for my soul. It’s to get myself out there, to make myself more comfortable being open, to share my thoughts, even to improve my writing skills! So it isn’t something I do while procrastinating anymore. And that makes it hard.

I have a lot of exciting thoughts bouncing around in my head, though! I really want to share them with you. I’ll do my best to buckle down and try to post a little something every week. Just for you beautiful people. 😉

And to start it off…perfume! One of my favorite things. 😉 Sixteen92, one of my faves, recently announced a quarterly subscription box called The Circle. Basically for one easy payment you get samples of all of the seasonal releases! It’s a dream come true! Of course I hopped right on that. And I’m so glad I did, the summer collection is fabulous! It’s inspired by the jazz era and the smells are all feminine and lovely. Read on for more of my thoughts!

(I can’t for the life of me find the picture I took of these guys, but it’s getting late and this post has been waiting to be published for like a month so I guess you’re getting a pictureless post. Sorry not sorry)

The Beautiful & Damned: Sparkling pink grapefruit, strawberry, raspberry and currant with soft violet, gardenia and vanilla absolute 
First sniff: This is definitely super fruity, with a bit of a soft floral tempering it. It smells like it coooouuuuld go cough syrupy though. Proceed with caution.
On skin: The fruitiness and mediciney quality fades away immediately with me and it’s mostly floral. It’s a nice floral, very soft and pretty and not bitter. I can still smell fruit though–strawberries?
Afterthoughts: The description sounds a lot more like what I sniff in the bottle. It’s mostly floral on me but my skin amps weird notes sometimes!!

Blood & Honey: Blood orange, wildflower honey (vegan), pale amber, honeysuckle.
First sniff: Woo boy, this is sweet. It smells thick and syrupy sweet, very strongly of honey.
On skin: The honey tames down a teeeensy bit, and I smell oranges too. Also just a hint of floral, honeysuckle? It’s still sweet, but not so thick and heavy any more. I like it a lot more on my skin than in the bottle.
Afterthoughts: It’s a pretty simple little mix, easy to tease out. All of the scents mix together surprisingly well, imo. Also, side note, I immediately thought of President Snow when I read the name, but luckily it does not at all smell like blood and roses.

Eternal Return: Peat moss and damp garden soil, tomato leaf, beetroot, grass, herbs, lavender spikes, galbanum, sun-warmed oak bark. 
First sniff: This is so sweet and green and outdoorsy and oh my god amazing!
On skin: This is a wonderful wet scent. It’s fresh and green and a little dirty, and a teeny bit floral. It smells like a garden! Over time the sweetness comes out more and the dirtiness falls away. It has decent sillage on me and lasts a while, which is awesome!
Afterthoughts: So fun fact: I’m allergic to solanaceous plants (i.e., tomatoes, potatoes, tobacco, petunias…anything in the nightshade family). Not tomatoes, just the plants. Being in the same room/area as the plants makes my nose instantly clog and triggers my asthma. It’s crazy. So I don’t really know what tomato leaf is supposed to smell like, lmao, but I find that I tend to like perfumes that it’s in! I also like that the lavender is pretty subdued in this, it can be very hit or miss for me but in this blend, it’s an absolute hit!

Paper Moon: Soft vanilla musk, benzoin, oakmoss, trailing ivy, peach blossom, tea rose.
First sniff: This reminds me of shampoo?? It smells sweet and fresh, but a little soapy. Hmmm.
On skin: Ok, it smells much less soapy on the skin. I smell some kind of fruity and an airy freshness. It’s a little reminiscent of dryer sheets, but it’s really not bad. I like it!
Afterthoughts: I really would have guessed that this leaned fruity instead of floral, but whatever. I’ll take it. It smells very feminine and sophisticated. I really like it.

Theda: Dark sangria infused with ripe summer fruits (white peach, nectarine, berries, citrus), dark vanilla, wild vines, rose absolute.
First sniff: Bright, sweet, and fruity, but there’s something in there grounding it, and preventing it from being just sickly sweet.
On skin: I smell wine! Fruit and wine. But it’s not too winey that I would feel uncomfortable wearing it to work–it doesn’t make me smell like a wino, hah!
Afterthoughts: Sniffing it again, I can definitely smell the rose, but not the vines. It’s still mostly just sweet. I think the wine and vines help ground it though, as I said above–it’s not too syrupy sweet and it’s not fleeting. Just a nice sweet scent.

Overall, I could not be happier with this collection and The Circle so far! I’m so stoked to be able to dive right in to every collection. Such a good investment!!

Questions of the Day:
Has something you’ve read ever completely changed your life? I feel like it happens to me a lot!
Aren’t you just so excited for summer?? I am!!

Until next time,
Allie

One thought on “Personal ramblings and Sixteen92’s The Circle

Leave a Reply

