A Journey in Aging…Perfumes.

I’m obsessed with the idea of aging.

I love the idea of things changing and getting better and better over time. I think that it’s magical that things can grow and change in unpredictable ways, with only time.

Did you know that perfumes age? It’s true! Perfumes can change how they smell over the years, or even within weeks or days! I think that’s so fantastic, that they transform and morph over time.

I’ve decided that I want to see how some of my favorites have changed over time. I started buying indie perfumes around two years ago (!), so I have some oldies in my collection. My personal taste has aged (heh) over time too, and I think it’ll be fun seeing how my perfumes and my taste have changed.

I want to start with my Haus of Gloi full-size collection. This is partly because HoG was the first indie perfume/b&b company I really got into! Some of these are among my first purchases. It’s also because my HoG collection is fairly small, I have 9 full sized perfumes. I don’t really get their perfumes anymore, for various reasons, but I love their whipped soaps and pumpkin butters, so I snatch them up all the time still.

So without further ado…

Haus of Gloi

Cozy Sweater
Pale skin musk, faded perfume, Egyptian amber, softly burning nag champa incense and a fine aged vanilla.
Collection: General catalog
Originally purchased: December 2014
In bottle: Sweet and cozy! It smells a but like dryer sheets and vanilla.
On skin: It’s very sweet! It smells a little sharper than I remember, a little less soft, but it still has that nice, homey, incensy feel to it.
Drydown: This gets softer over time, in a nice way. It still smells like fancy incense and vanilla, but it’s also got a bit of a dryer sheet feel to it.
Afterthoughts: I still really like this, but I don’t love the dryer sheets! I don’t use scented dryer sheets so it’s kind of a weird smell to me.

Hearth
The warm glowing center of home. Autumns last apple pickings, warm bread, orange rind, various fire roasted nuts, cracked black pepper all nailed down by an oozing sticky benzoin.
Collection: Winter
Originally purchased: December 2014
In bottle: This immediately smells like really fresh, crisp apples and just baked bread. It doesn’t smell like an apple pie or pastry, just fresh apples and bread.
On skin: This blooms in a great way. It still has that same basic combination–apples and bread–but it feels so warm and homey. It smells like apple picking, apple cider, apple donuts…crisp fall air and coming inside to a warm home. It has a similar feel to Cozy Sweater to me; they don’t smell alike, but they both evoke a warm, snuggly feeling.
Drydown: Everything blends together very nicely as it dries. It ends up sweet, warm, and gourmand. I really love this one, it’s a perfect scent for a cool fall day.
Afterthoughts: I think this one mostly smells the same. If anything, the scents have melded together in a harmonious way. I think the bread smell is a little more apparent, which makes it smell very warm and homey. In my original review, I mentioned that it smells more like a fall scent than a winter scent, and I still agree.

http://holmeslakeorchard.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/apple-bread.jpg

Pretty much exactly this. Source: holmeslakeorchard.com

Risque
A leather whip, red musk, cast aside roses and an intoxicating touch of amber.
Collection: Valentine’s
Originally purchased: March 2015
In bottle: Something sweet and powdery, with just a hint of soft leather.
On skin: It’s not super strong. It smells like sweet rose petals, smokey incense, and soft suede. It’s very girly and nice.
Drydown: The leather comes out in a really nice way, but it stays sweet. There’s still something in the background that I don’t like though. It smells kind of soapy and weird.
Afterthoughts: It’s a good rose and leather scent. I prefer Darling Clandestine’s Tapadero for my rose n leather needs now, though. 🙂

a45ad213e46996f605e94f2d5bdc0e22

Leather and roses, leather roses, same diff. Source: Pinterest

Salty Caramel
Caramel flecked with warm sea salt.
Collection: Halloween Candy Bowl
Originally purchased: November 2014 (my first full size purchase!)
In bottle: Really yummy soft caramels! It smells really rich and sweet.
On skin: It’s so gourmand and yummy. It smells buttery, and a little like melted sugar. There is a hint of something kind of plasticky and bad though.
Drydown: This pretty much smells the same. It does smell a little plasticky which is sad! I don’t think it used to.
Afterthoughts: I think this one got worse over time. It smells so good in the bottle; better than I remembered! But it doesn’t smell great on my skin. Pass!

Snow Wolf
Three howling firs, white frankincense, vanilla bean husk, tainted by droplets of blood cedar.
Collection: Winter
Originally purchased: November 2015
In bottle: This is a smack of sweet cedar and cool pine straight out of the bottle!
On skin: It’s nice and sweet, with a sweet cedar that smells like fresh pencil shavings. The pine is quite cooling and astringent. It’s definitely a cool winter scent!
Drydown: The pine calms down over time, and this turns into a nice cedar scent. I like it a lot.
Afterthoughts: This one is really good! The pine (wait, it’s actually fir. Same difference) is a little strong on the front end, but once it dies down a little this is super nice. It might be my favorite in my HoG collection right now!

Spider Silk
Procured from a dream: delicate water mint, wispy grey musk, crystalline webs of amber, oakmoss, torchwood, copaiba resin, and a touch of withered violet leaf.
Collection: Autumn
Originally purchased: August 2015
In bottle: This is wonderfully sweet and wet and ethereal.
On skin: It’s mostly minty and sweet and wet. There’s something in the background that reminds me a little of halitosis though…
Drydown: It smells really…perfumey, for lack of a better word. It just reminds me of drugstore perfume, probably the amber.
Afterthoughts: I still think this smells great in the bottle, but it does weird things on my skin that I don’t love.

Troika
A trinity of soft milks, almond, oat and coconut, lashed with sweet agave nectar and the ethereal scent of clean white.
Collection: General catalog
Originally purchased: August 2015
In bottle: So good, it’s a nice sweet almond/cherry smell! (Can never tell those two apart…)
On skin: This blooms really nice on the skin, it’s pleasantly sweet.
Drydown: This one just gets softer over time, it stays nice and sweet and cozy.
Afterthoughts: This one is still really great! It starts off with more of a punch than I remember, but I softens quickly into a pleasant, sweet smell.

Vice
Steam billows rolling off a vessel of fresh made Turkish coffee, marshmallow goo tainted by graham cracker crumbs, toasted hazelnuts and blanketed in black chocolate.
Collection: General catalog
Originally purchased: January 2015
In bottle: Incredibly rich and gourmand. I smell creamy chocolate candies and graham cracker right off the bat.
On skin: This one has incredible throw on me. It smells even creamier on my skin. I think it would make a heavenly lotion.The graham cracker and chocolate is mixed with just a hint of hot coffee, but it’s still so so sweet.
Drydown: This stays warm and snuggly as it dries. It actually smells warm, if that makes sense. It’s so yummy, it has a lot of throw and it’s making me hungry!
Afterthoughts: Yup, I still really love this one. It’s a little rich for every day wear, but it’s so nice. It’s very snuggly, again like Cozy Sweater and Hearth. That’s what I love about some HoG scents, they’re so cozy!

S'mores with Marshmallows Chocolate and Graham Crackers

It’s basically like a big melty s’mores for your skin! Source: mentalfloss.com

Who Needs Love
A mahogany box filled with chocolaty orbs, coated in crystallized coffee – filled with a pomegranate and raspberry filling.
Collection: Valentine’s
Originally purchased: March 2015
In bottle: It smells like a sweet raspberry mocha!
On skin: It’s a very sweet coffee smell. The raspberry undercurrent is still there, and I love it. There’s something else weird and powdery too.
Drydown: It’s ok. It just stays very sweet and gourmand and a little bit powdery.
Afterthoughts: I think it’s become very well mixed with age. Otherwise it’s just ok, a decent, very sweet gourmand.

Overall, I don’t love a lot of these anymore. Looking at the notes, 3 of the 9 have amber notes, and I don’t like any of those as much anymore. I thought they had a weird, plasticky smell to them. I’ll probably avoid amber notes in HoG from now on. Other than that, I think my tastes have changed. I’m not into gourmand scents as much anymore, which about half of these were. I’m also definitely craving something more complex than these. When all is said and done, I’ll definitely still pop in for seasonal releases at the Haus, but I stick more to bath and body products now. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Journey in Aging…Perfumes.

Leave a Reply

