It’s the most wonderful time of the year! (HoG Autumn 2016)

Hey everyone!

Happy autumn! It’s time for cooler weather, pumpkin spice lattes, and wearing boots and scarves. If only the weather would cooperate (global warming! *shakes fist*). The other thing I love about fall, though, is the perfume! Autumn perfumes are my absolute favorites, if you couldn’t tell by my sixteen92 Autumn Collection review.

Today I’ll be talking about Haus of Gloi’s autumn collection! Or, a very small part of it. I only got two new perfumes this year, because I had collected the rest in years past (#gottacatchemall). I’ll be re-reviewing those soon (and maybe reviewing some of them for the first time?), as part of my Journey in Aging series.

Haus of Gloi Autumn 2016

Hex
You’ve been bewitched! Brackish amber, aged vanilla bean and three dark fruits, veiled in darkness and otherworldly secrecy.
In bottle: Oh, this smells like caramel apples!
On skin: Maybe it smells more like pears than apples? It definitely smells like yummy fruits.
Drydown: It smells less fruity as it dries, and more earthy and subtly spicy.
Afterthoughts: Yeah, the amber doesn’t surprise me. I think this would make a better soap than perfume.

Samhain II
Freshly turned earth, wet leaves, and a cool specter ridden wind! 
In bottle: This is very sharp and green, and a little earthy.
On skin: It’s green and so sharp and a little woody. It’s a little overwhelming to me to be honest.
Drydown: This smells a little dirty, and a little like tobacco, and maybe leather?
Afterthoughts: I know a lot of people loved the first iteration of this, but it’s really overwhelming on me! Maybe this needs a little time to calm down.

Pumpkin butter: Ghost Puffs
Orbs of buttery popcorn and marshmallow goo, presented on a wooden stick.
I love Haus of Gloi’s pumpkin butter as a fall/winter lotion. It’s so thick and luxurious, and super moisturizing. Ghosts Puffs is a great scent too, it’s buttery, creamy, marshmallowey deliciousness!

***

Basically I’m super excited for Haus of Gloi’s autumn part ii release! (It’s on Sunday the 25th!) That’s when they start selling some more perfume-only scents, as well as whipped soap! I think I might try to nab Hex in whipped soap form.

I’m also going to go through the fall perfumes I already have to see how they’ve aged! Some of them are really yummy, I can’t wait to share with you.

Leave a Reply

