Fortune Cookie Soap–I’m addicted to their hand sanitizer, ok??

Hi everyone! Today I’ll be talking about a recent order I got from Fortune Cookie Soap. Fortune Cookie Soap is a fun, quirky company named after their flagship product: a soap bar that’s shaped like a fortune cookie! They have a lot of other fun products, too. They even offer a quarterly subscription box that I used to be subscribed to. I recently made a big order because I ran out of their hand sanitizer, which is my faaavorite. I’m really excited to share what I got with you! Let’s go!

OCD Hand Sanitizers

These are the absolute best. Fun fact, alcohol-based hand sanitizers are less drying to your skin than soap (I wouldn’t recommend using non-alcohol-based hand sanitizers; you can read why in this article I wrote for Odyssey). This one is also supposed to have lots of moisturizers in it, which makes it even better. I pretty much use this exclusively on my hands in the winter, instead of hand soap.

Also, a PSA, I am very averse to using mental disorders as adjectives. I find it annoying, ignorant, and disrespectful when neurotypical people say things like “I’m so OCD!!” because they like to stay organized or wash their hands after they use the bathroom. BUT, this product is named OCD in part to bring attention to the fact that some proceeds from this product are donated to the OCD Foundation, which they describe as “very near and dear to our hearts.” Part of the OCD Foundation’s mission is to end the stigma around mental disorders, and to help individuals with OCD have access to proper treatment so they can live full, happy lives. They also have 3 stars (out of 4) with Charity Navigator, which is pretty good. Overall, it’s a great cause to contribute to.

20160930_131528-01

This months theme is The Princess Bride! I love it!

Buttercup
Candied rum wrapped with ripe fig, bergamot, vetiver, warm sandalwood and sweet vanilla musk.
This is a lighter scent than some of the other hand sanitizers. It’s like a generic soft sweet smell. This one would be nice for a lighter scent than the other ones!

Pit of Despair
Patchouli, fresh-cut lemongrass and tropical plumeria.
It’s so lemony!! It’s like a lemon head. Pretty fitting for the gold glittery stuff! It does smell a little masculine-leaning, which seems weird (masculine candy??), but it works.

Prepare to Die
A warm blend of fresh baked cookie dough spiced with clove and saffron
This isn’t as strong on my hands as some other FCS hand sanitizers are. It smells kind of like baked goods, I think? (nailed it!) Hard to tell bc it’s quite faint. Also, this is the only OCD with glitter that I’ve used where I notice the glitter on my hands after I use it. :/

True Love
A sparkling blend of fresh citrus, creamy jasmine petals and a dash of sea salt.
It’s very sweet and lemony. If Pit of Despair is masculine lemon this is feminine lemon.

20160930_131739-01

Can’t Even
Smashed pumpkin and sweet potato dusted with freshly ground nutmeg and brown sugar.
Perfect pumpkin spice, emphasis on the spice! Yum. This is part of the Basic Pumpkin collection, which also includes Yoga Booty lotion, The OG pedi bomb, and Selfie Stick lip balm!

PJP
Fresh oranges, grapefruit, strawberries, ripe melon, peaches and kiwi..sprinkled with a touch of sugar. Try it in the dark – it magically glows!
This is very juicy, sweet, and fruity! Side note, it took me a million years to figure out “PJP” stands for “Polyjuice Potion.”#potterhead

Rum Butter
Rum with base notes of creamy buttery toffee.
This is pretty caramelly and sweet. There’s a bit of a surprisingly fruity tone to it? It’s not as warm and rich as I would imagine butterbeer to be, but it’s close.

Tree of Life
A dewy blend of lily and jasmine with lemon & refreshing ozone, tilled with damp earth and freshly cut green grass.
This is a little sweet, but also a little earthy, in a weird way. It’s kind of weird to have something that’s supposed to make you clean smell a little dirty! It’s not bad, I just htink I might like it better in another product.

What? It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere!
It’s like having one of those fruity cocktails with the colorful umbrellas…only in a handy dandy hand sanitizer!
This is soooo fruity. It smells mostly like pineapple to me.

20160930_131625-01

Naked
This one doesn’t have a smell! I got it because I might want to experiment with putting perfume or essential oils in it…I haven’t decided what yet though. If you prefer something with no color/scent/glitter in it, this is a great option.

Steam Me Up, Scottie!

This is such a fun, unique product. It’s a little chalky square (they come three to a package) that you throw into the bottom of your shower. As it gets wet and dissolves, it releases a great smell into your shower! I like this a lot because I’m not much of a bath person…I’ve tried to get into bath bombs but I really prefer to just shower!

20160930_131933-01

Inconceivable!
Fall woods, black amber and poached pears topped with whipped vanilla cream
This is aaalmost a masculine smell. Like there’s definitely some woods/leather/rum/MAN in there, but it’s still a little sweet and yummy and a teeny bit foody.

Pit of Despair
Patchouli, fresh-cut lemongrass and tropical plumeria.
This is strong and citrusy. Almost cleaning product territory, but not quite. It’s also a little masculine-leaning, imo (probably the patchouli).

Poisonous Fog
Wind-blown leaves, heliotrope, woods of cedar and  sandalwood, dark musk creeping with just a hint of roasted marshmallows, brown sugar, coconut and soft vanilla.
Kind of sweet and earthy? And a little like caramelized sugar. This is kinda weird, but not in a bad way. (oh wow look at that, nailed it!)

Freebie

Whipped cream in Tick Tock
Twisted medley of waterlily & peppermint sprigs livened by hints of citrus zests. Dripping moss and swirling ozonic ocean air against a backdrop of delicate spring flowers, like the soft whisper of butterfly wings.
I’ve used their whipped cream before, it’s ok. It absorbs nicely for the most part but leaves a little almost waxy residue on my hands. This free little pot is a generous size, so that’s nice. This is a Hunger Games-themed permanent scent, which I believe is only available as a whipped cream. It’s a pretty pale blue color, and it’s a pretty typical b&b smell–a little sweet, a little aquatic. It leans a little dryer sheet-ish on my hands. There’s a note on the little freebie pot that says “Whipped body butter infused with an invigorating blend of meyer lemons and garden mint,” but I really smell more of the oceany part.

***

Overall, I’m really satisfied with this order, everything smells great! The one annoyance I had was that I have an account with an email I deleted a while ago. While I was able to change my mailing address on my account, I couldn’t change the email address, which was frustrating. I had to make a whole new account. It wasn’t a deal breaker, but it was annoying. Other than that little snafu, everything went really well, and again, I love the products. I’m looking forward to hoarding even more hand sanitizer in the future. 😉

Leave a Reply

