A Journey in Aging: HoG Autumn

Today I’m continuing my Journey in Aging! Today I’m talking some more about the greatest perfume season: autumn! There are lots in this one because Haus of Gloi‘s fall collection is huuuuuge, so here we go…

Haus of Gloi Autumn part I

Ghost Puffs
Orbs of buttery popcorn and marshmallow goo, presented on a wooden stick.
Originally purchased: August 2015
In bottle: Yum, marshmallows!
On skin: It smells like melty marshmallows and butter. So gooood.
Drydown: This is so warm and snuggly! I didn’t get the hype when I first got this, but I so get it now. This is delish!
Afterthoughts: I smell more butter than popcorn, otherwise this is exactly what it says on the tin.

The Horseman
Autumnal forest and wood, distant fire, smooth saddle leather, brown musk and the lingering scent of a dark gentleman’s cologne on a black woolen coat.
Originally purchased: August 2015
In bottle: It’s very leathery and a little boozy. Leather and whiskey maybe.
On skin: Weird leather and something smokey. It smells kind of like a forest path in the fall, with damp fallen leaves, but the leather is a little overwhelming.
Drydown: It turns into just leather as it dries. It’s ok. I’m not wild about Haus of Gloi’s leather.
Afterthoughts: I wouldn’t have guessed from the description that all I would be able to smell is leather. I’m not feeling it.

Olde Cider Haus
Old oak, sweet drying hay fields, crushed apple pulp and vanilla husks.
Originally purchased: October 2014
In bottle: Apples and bread! It reminds me a little of Hearth, but more apple, less bread.
On skin: Omg apples. Apples and grass? It’s so sweet and a little earthy. Yum!
Drydown: This gets warm and spicy as it dries. It’s a really nice fall apple scent, it reminds me of apple picking!
Afterthoughts: The oak and hay balance out the apple and vanilla really nicely. It’s still sweet, but not too gourmand. It’s a very nice blend.

Persephone’s Descent
Pomegranate, pale musk, narcissus blossom and black amber.
Originally purchased: August 2015
In bottle: This is sweet and fruity; a little different than the other autumn offerings, but I think that’s to be expected from the name.
On skin: I mean, it’s got to be pomegranates, right? Pomegranates and something a little aquatic and damp. It reminds me a little of a Bath and Body Works store.
Drydown: This is a really nice fruity scent. The fruit sticks around for a while which is always a treat. Over time it gets more earthy. This is so fitting for Persephone, it’s a great atmospheric scent and I love how it morphs over time.
Afterthoughts: Ok so like obviously it was pomegranate. I actually really like the amber in this one?? It’s got to be different than their typical amber. It just smells sweet and a little earthy. This aged really well.

Pumpkin Eater
Cream, glowing pumpkin, rich vanilla bean and the tiniest touch of nutmeg butter.  
Originally purchased: August 2015
In bottle: This smells like a sweet creamy dessert! It actually reminds me a little of apples, despite the fact that this is obviously a pumpkin scent.
On skin: It smells like baked goods and a sweet sharp smell that always reminds me of what perfumeries call “cream.” My best guess is that this is like a pumpkin roll. I also cannot stop smelling apple in this so I’ll go with pumpkin roll with a glass of cool apple cider.
Drydown: I really can only smell cider when this dries down. It smells fruity and reminds me of pumpkin spice, without irritating my skin, which is nice. It’s a yummy, creamy gourmand.
Afterthoughts: I have no idea why this reminds me so much of cider, probably the nutmeg and vanilla? Also, called it on the “cream” note.

Pumpkin Queen
Gentle hay pillows, pumpkin, ripe peaches dusted with clove and nutmeg, dried summer herbs and lastly, a lovely crown of amber.
Originally purchased: August 2015
In bottle: This is sweet, creamy, and just a little bit earthy.
On skin: This smells like curry on me?? Like that’s all that I can smell. Nooooooo.
Drydown: I really can only smell curry. It calms down a little over time, but it just turns from “soaked in curry” to “lightly sprinkled with curry.”
Afterthoughts: Whyyyyy does this turn into curry on me it sounds so good in the description. 😦

HoG Autumn part II: Perfume only scents

Apple Milk
Apple pulp, hot milk and cardamom.
Originally purchased: September 2015
In bottle: So appley! It reminds me a lot of Hearth, but a little spicy like cider.
On skin: Appley and cidery. It really is a lot more like Hearth than Olde Cider Haus.
Drydown: This gets less appley and more creamy over time. It’s a really pleasant gourmand.
Afterthoughts: If you want something super appley and cidery and gourmand, I would recommend this over Olde Cider Haus. Olde Cider Haus is good, it’s just more earthy than edible.

Cozy Pumpkin
Fresh pumpkin and our ever popular Cozy Sweater blended together for fall time coziness.
Originally purchased: September 2015
In bottle: This really smells a lot like cozy sweater, but you can smell just a little bit of warm, but not spicy, pumpkin too.
On skin: Creamy pumpkin and incense. Just what it says on the tin!
Drydown: This still just smells like Cozy Sweater from far away, but doesn’t smell great when I sniff my wrist, for some reason.
Afterthoughts: “Fall time coziness” describes this pretty well! I’m not sure why it smells not great up close on me though.

Golden Corn Cakes
Corn cake baked to a golden perfection, topped with butter and honey.
Originally purchased: September 2015
In bottle: Very sweet sweet corn!
On skin: It’s very sweet and buttery, oh my goodness. It smells like really great corn bread.
Drydown: It gets a little cloying as it dries, more sweet and less buttery corn.
Afterthoughts: It’s really nice at first but it gets weird on the dry down. Too bad! I bet it would be a nice whipped soap!

Pumpkin Patch
Dried leaves, twisted vines, orange pumpkins, golden amber and earth.
Originally purchased: August 2015
In bottle: This is earthy, sharp, and a little soapy.
On skin: It’s very sharp. It’s got this sharp greeness that a lot of grassy HoG scents have. It’s also a little sweet though, which offsets the sharpness just a tad.
Drydown: This smells dirty and creamy. It starts to smell less grassy and more gourmand over time, which is interesting. It smells a little like pumpkin pie spice, but I don’t think there are actually spice notes.
Afterthoughts: This is really pleasant on the drydown, but I don’t like the immediate sharpness. It’s recognizably pumpkin but not as foodie as Pumpkin Eater. I’m not sure if they’re still making this one, I think it used to be an Autumn Part II scent but they’re not releasing it this year so idk if/when it will come back.

Red Roan
Fresh strawberry flecked porridge with maple syrup and adulterated with a splash of white cognac.
Originally purchased: September 2015
In bottle: This smells just like strawberries and cream instant oatmeal.
On skin: Oatmeal! The strawberry smell is pretty strong, and reminds me a lot of those freeze-dried strawberry slices.
Drydown: The yummy strawberry smell to this has great throw on me and I love it. When I sniff my wrists up close, it’s less yummy, the oatmeal part gets a little weird.
Afterthoughts: This is pretty good on me, nice and sweet with a lot of throw.

***

This is still my favorite Haus of Gloi collection! There are still some things from their fall collection on their website, go check it out if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

