Darling Clandestine Falloween 2016

Hi, I’m blogging this super late as usual! I have even gotten another package since I got these aaaaahhhh. These beauties are from Falloween, which of course is a combo of Fall and Halloween. They’re long gone by now because I’m bad at doing things on time! But here’s a review for posterity, they’ll probably be back next year!

Darling Clandestine beauties

Look at these beauties! Descriptions under the cut 🙂

Fragrances

Baby Bankrupt
Tobacco absolute, linden blossom, pumpkin rind, molten steel.
In bottle: It’s sweet and bitter. It reminds me a lot of grape candy/Fire Eater, but there’s a bitter tang to it.
On skin: This is sweet and bitter and hot and wow. It smells like candy in one sniff, and burning tobacco in the next. It’s warm then hot then on fire. This smells like what I wanted Fire Eater to smell like. Wow! I love this.
Drydown: This turns into a faint metallic tanginess over time. It still has a little bit of that grapey sweetness but it’s mostly metallic.
Afterthoughts: I was so excited about this I did a full-sized blind buy! I does not disappoint, this may be one of my all-time favorites.

Tiny Ice Bees
I wove a wisp of damp silk—crisp, delicate, ozoney, watery—with a subtle splash of pineapple and tart green orange and grapefruit.
In bottle: Sweet and grapefruit-y!
On skin: This is so freaking yummy. It’s a little soapy, but only in that it’s green and aquatic in a way that I could associate with soap. It’s also got that yummy grapefruitiness, yassss.
Drydown: This gets powdery and soft as it dries.
Afterthoughts: I actually had a bitsy bottle of this like…a year-ish ago? And I FREAKING BROKE IT like the butterfingers that I am (it’s actually the only perfume bottle that I’ve ever broken! So I am SUPER EXCITED that I FINALLY got another bottle of this because I LOVE IT.

Falloween collection

Falter
Startling, misty, herbal, with notes including avocado (though there’s no “avocado” fragrance oil in here) and ozone and clary sage.
In bottle: This is pretty faint. It smells green and juicy, but also dry and dusty. Simultaneously. It reminds me of cucumber, I wanna say.
On skin: Definitely gonna stick with cucumber for this one. Cucumbers and dust. There’s nothing sweet about this. It’s green, faint, and lonely.
Drydown: It gets less green, more dusty, and a little woody and waxy as it dries. It stays pretty faint.
Afterthoughts: Yeah idk why cucumber. Herbal is definitely a good word for this!

Spurn
Fierce and passionate, with bright bursts of pomegranate, tempered with aged wood and haunted by marigolds.
In bottle: It’s so sweet! It’s a floral sweetness that verges into sticky candy territory.
On skin: It’s like sticking your face in a bowl of potpourri. It reminds me a lot of dried up, husky flowers. Sweet but very dry.
Drydown: It pretty much stays the same, but gets softer over time.
Afterthoughts: Ok, so I actually got Spurn about a year and a half ago, but I wanted to round out my review! This one is in an ITSY-bitsy vial, a little clear vial about half the size of a bitsy, which I don’t think Evonne really uses anymore (I haven’t seen them in a few months anyway).

Squander
Deep and decadent, with rich fruitful notes including clove and nutmeg and sandalwood and ripe red apple.
In bottle: This is interesting, it’s sweet in a weird way. It reminds me a little bit of baby shampoo.
On skin: Oh, this blooms really nicely on my skin. It still smells a bit like Johnson & Johnson to me, but there’s something fruity and something green about it too.
Drydown: This gets sharper and greener as it dries. I like it a lot a lot a lot.
Afterthoughts: The notes read like a typical fall “apple cider” scent, but it’s really not. It’s definitely a little fruity and sweet, but it’s also green and bitter. It’s nicely balanced and I really like how this one morphs on my skin.

Wither
It’s unsettling, ethereal, with notes including ozone and blueberry and trampled leaves, soaked in black pepper and rum.
In bottle:  This is sweet and ozoney, I love it a lot.
On skin: This is really wonderful, it’s very sweet and soft and wow, in a very DC way!
Drydown: This gets very soft and nice after a while. Not a ton of throw, but it’s so nice when I do smell it.
Afterthoughts: Ozone and blueberries sounds about right. It’s quite damp and sweet, though not particularly fruity or gourmand. I think this is my favorite of the Falloween scents. *heart eyes*

Smother(whirl)
Description
In bottle: Smells like a fruity punch in the face. Bordering on cough syrupy.
On skin: It’s sweet but also has something a little aquatic about it. The fruitiness is almost overwhelming, and really seems like it could veer into cough syrup!
Drydown: Eh it doesn’t change a lot, the fruitiness does calm down but that’s about it.
Afterthoughts: Ok so this is another one I got a while ago, and it’s actually a mash up of the elusive 5th Falloween fragrance (Smother), which was not available this year, and Tilt-a-Whirl, a summer scent. I have it in a bitsy with a picture of an old-fashioned baby carriage on it. JUST THOUGHT YOU SHOULD KNOW.

Balm for Live Bodies

Body balm

Look at how big it is! On top is an old “Sharkling Sized” body balm, new full-sized one is underneath.

Balm

…and from the side

Tiny Ice Bees
I wove a wisp of damp silk—crisp, delicate, ozoney, watery—with a subtle splash of pineapple and tart green orange and grapefruit.
In tin: It’s very sweet, lots of grapefruit, and a little green. Maybe a little kick of spice too? I’m not sure.
On skin: This is very sweet on me, but not so much fruity or green anymore. Just sweet and a little soapy. I put it on my hands and in my hair and I can smell it pretty well, it’s got good throw. It’s fairly different than the bottle of oil.
Overall: I’ve got to be honest, I LOVE Balm for Live Bodies. I use so much of it. It’s so good for my skin and it makes my hair look awesome. I use it on my hands and cuticles and elbows!

***

Of course these babies did not disappoint. I love Darling Clandestine, it’s my favorite perfumerie, hands down. Next up I’ll be reviewing what I got for two big fall sales, the Doing the Unstuck sale, and Clandestine Saturday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

